We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly okay”
Review of Senator Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Senator Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mostly okay”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The room looked lovely. Great views. Nice deck. Horrid old chair and table on the deck though. The air conditioning is only allowed down to 21? and up to 22 degrees and was very hot.

The bathroom stunk. Apparently a bridal party had been in the room before me. One can only imagine the vomit down the plug holes.

No duvet cover on the bed, just a white inner. My mind worried as I am sure that does not get washed each day and I have seen those programs which show what is 'left behind.'

I would not go back.

Lady running the place seemed nice but not overly worried when I said the bathroom smelt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
I am very sorry that you felt I was unconcerned. It is very hard for us to rectify any problem that you may have with our units if you tell us on departure and not as soon as you discover the imperfection. We do work very hard to keep our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    58
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
104
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This is a very well situated motel in Gisborne. The location in front of the harbour is very pleasant ! We had a room at the top floor which was splendid ! Nice kitchen, good bed ( we slept very well ! ), everything spic & span....., good parkingplace for our car, what do you want more ?

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We try very hard to make your stay as pleasurable as we comfortable as we can. Glad you enjoyed our central location and local restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

If you are looking for a motel in Gisborne then look no further yhamn the Senator. Karen the manager looks after your every need. The rooms are spacious with large windows / patio doors which lead onto a balcony ovetlooking tht rover / harbour. The location is ideal and laundry including drying is free. The Rivers bar / restaurant is close by and providers good pub type food.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river. First floor better than ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It is a pleasure to be able to make your stay as enjoyable as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a winner alright! From the warm welcome, to the well priced exceptional room, to the view.
I appreciated the ground floor as I am accostumed to overpacking and the car park close to the room.
Unlike a previous review I enjoyed the street level terrace to have a 'knock off' wine outside. I believe the sheers to give ample privacy. The location is perfecto. I had a bath and it is very quiet given it is so close to the city centre.
I can't wait to come back for a holiday stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0ukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your ground floor unit. We think all our units are lovely and they all have a beautiful view of our harbour. Very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very clean, friendly and helpful. The motel is bang opposite the yacht harbour over a bridge where there are good places to eat. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a small balcony. The whole motel faces a wide road though a relatively quiet one. We were on the first floor and at the far end so the road didn't bother us at all, but because of the road I would definitely recommend a first floor room rather than the ground floor if possible.

Room Tip: Room 16 is furthest from any road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggottyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our central location and beautiful views are certainly popular with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent location right near the town centre and harbour. USS restaurant 2 minutes away is really VERY good indeed. I found the bed a little soft - personal preference is a harder bed, apart from that it was very good and very spacious room.

Room Tip: Try the USS restaurant and breakfast place (rebu) just up the road was also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Norton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, General Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay, our spacious rooms and central location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was one of 7 accomodation places we stayed at in the North Island during February, all of similar prices and facilities. 3 of them were pretty much perfect in every way for us and this was one of them! Spacious, light, quiet, clean and comfortable with up to date facilities and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boydies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have cafe' , restaurants, and shops very close by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.1 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
2.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Motor Inn

Property: Senator Motor Inn
Address: 2 Childers Road, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Senator Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and comfortable motel accommodation in the heart of Gisborne - Senator Motor Inn offers this and more.Our modern harbour side motel is a two minute walk to Central Gisborne’s shops, bars, cafes and restaurants.Each of our spacious self contained suites has its own balcony with views over the bustling inner harbour marina. From here you can take a relaxing riverside stroll along the riverside walkway to the spectacular Waikanae and Midway beaches in one direction or along the riverside walkway alongside the rivers in the other direction.Senator Motor Inn offers top quality motel accommodation for the discerning business traveller or holiday maker during the week or for those special get away from it all weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Senator Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing