We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel!”
Review of Senator Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senator Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great motel!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good condition, good location. We're very like it. Next time still choose this one.

Not good is the midnight noise, maybe from the bar.

The equipmwnt for the kitchen is not too much, hope provide more next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zhang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our kitchenette's are equipped for the cooking facilities in the rooms. However we are happy to provide further equipment should you require it. Our motel location is close to the city and restaurant's and at times music can be heard. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    58
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
104
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a ground floor room which was a little disappointing as we had requested an upstairs room and we did suffer a noisy family with children running around overhead however, our room was wonderfully spacious, immaculately clean and very comfortable, over looking the harbour. Onsiteparking right outside our door was great.
We had an issue with our car during our stay which left us stranded out of town, with the help of a couple of local lads and Mark from Senator we were soon up and running again. Thanks Mark for all your assistance.
Karen, loved your Easter chocolate tree, nice touch!

Room Tip: Chose upstairs if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cockney40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for your comments. We try our best to give our guests the rooms they request, but alas sometimes it is just not possible. Sorry for the noisy children upstairs, but again we try our best to give everyone a pleasant stay. Glad you enjoyed the chocolate and Mark was only to happy to be of assistance. Look forward to your next visit. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Region had a major power cut while I was here, this motel had some torches for us, but luckily the power came back on

Owners/Managers were friendly, rooms were fresh, clean and tidy. Shower had good water pressure. Would stay here again, nice and central.

Bedroom could do with a black out curtain to keep the early morning sun out

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are working through a refurbishment and will certainly take on board the black out curtains. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a very comfortable stay at the Senator Motor Inn.

Our room was spacious and clean in a very good location overlooking the river.

Ample parking and laundry facilities are available on the premises.

Perhaps we unfairly compared it to a previous motel where the Owners/manager provided that little bit extra, perhaps because it was owners rather than managed.

Tired plants in the corridor and a dead one in the room does not give a good impression.


However, I would recommend this as a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2hopeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
I am confused as to what you mean by management giving that bit extra? We do our best to give our guests the best experience we can. Our plants are artificial, but take that comment on board. Glad you would return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a well-located motel with good facilities and the unit had a good view from the spacious balcony. There was a separate bedroom which was quiet as it was internal with no noise from the roadway.
Very good king size bed which was comfortable.
Very helpful receptionist, Karen who pointed out places to visit in the locality, who because of her length of time living in Gisborne appeared to be very knowledgeable.
The motel is close to restaurants and bars - we particularly liked The Wharf (bar/resaurant) just 2 to 3 minutes walk which was a waterside operation.

Room Tip: Endeavour to get a first floor room as these have best balconies/views across river/harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate your time and kind words. We are happy to share our local knowledge to make your stay interesting and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The room looked lovely. Great views. Nice deck. Horrid old chair and table on the deck though. The air conditioning is only allowed down to 21? and up to 22 degrees and was very hot.

The bathroom stunk. Apparently a bridal party had been in the room before me. One can only imagine the vomit down the plug holes.

No duvet cover on the bed, just a white inner. My mind worried as I am sure that does not get washed each day and I have seen those programs which show what is 'left behind.'

I would not go back.

Lady running the place seemed nice but not overly worried when I said the bathroom smelt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
I am very sorry that you felt I was unconcerned. It is very hard for us to rectify any problem that you may have with our units if you tell us on departure and not as soon as you discover the imperfection. We do work very hard to keep our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
527 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This is a very well situated motel in Gisborne. The location in front of the harbour is very pleasant ! We had a room at the top floor which was splendid ! Nice kitchen, good bed ( we slept very well ! ), everything spic & span....., good parkingplace for our car, what do you want more ?

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We try very hard to make your stay as pleasurable as we comfortable as we can. Glad you enjoyed our central location and local restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.1 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#14 of 26 in Gisborne
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#12 of 26 in Gisborne
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#15 of 26 in Gisborne
43 reviews
2.0 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Motor Inn

Property: Senator Motor Inn
Address: 2 Childers Road, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Senator Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and comfortable motel accommodation in the heart of Gisborne - Senator Motor Inn offers this and more.Our modern harbour side motel is a two minute walk to Central Gisborne’s shops, bars, cafes and restaurants.Each of our spacious self contained suites has its own balcony with views over the bustling inner harbour marina. From here you can take a relaxing riverside stroll along the riverside walkway to the spectacular Waikanae and Midway beaches in one direction or along the riverside walkway alongside the rivers in the other direction.Senator Motor Inn offers top quality motel accommodation for the discerning business traveller or holiday maker during the week or for those special get away from it all weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Senator Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing