We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!”
Review of Motel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Oasis
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here as a family recently and it was fantastic ! The best thing for us was the ability to stay with 2 four legged family members, our 2 dogs. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit which had a queen bed in the bedroom and 2 singles in the lounge. There was a sofa, table and chairs and a small kitchenette.
I didn't deal with the owners apart from making the booking over the phone, but my wife said they were really lovely.

Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Charles, thank you for your visit and for the time to write your fantastic review of our motel. We are so glad that everybody enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you again soon (with or without the doggies!). In case you do, please don't forget to remind us that you are a returning customer in order to give you our best possible rate! Many thanks from the Motel Oasis team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    47
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
89
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
282 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a group of three adults and two children. The people running the motel were friendly, very courteous and easy to deal with via email, phone and in person. The rooms are basic but very clean and tidy. It's a few minutes out of town, but family friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Rick, thank you for choosing Motel Oasis and thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review of your stay. We try to offer good service at very reasonable prices and as you point out we are family friendly (and business friendly and pet friendly!). We hope to see you and your family again soon in warmer season so that you can enjoy our outdoor family activities too (pool, bicycles & minigolf). Many thanks from the Motel Oasis team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Clean, quiet, comfortable, friendly service - exactly what the doctor ordered on a business trip. Close to town but not in it, recently renovated, nice views from most directions - can't think of anything else to want.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear friend, thank you for choosing us on your business trip and thank you for your perfect review. We try to make our Motel as business friendly as possible (fast + reliable WiFi, free use of office facilities, conference centre, airport shuttle etc) We hope to see you again soon for business or for pleasure. Many thanks again from Marcia, Scott and Dimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived and were shown to our room, which did not have the correct bedding configuration. Without fuss we were shown to a room with a pull out bed for our 11 year old. We loved the setting, didn't find the traffic an issue at all (and I'm a very light sleeper). Heat pump kept us toasty warm. Bathroom was HUGE, maybe could have been smaller to allow for more room in studio, but that is being picky! My son loved the play station and the scooters that were available to use. Such an affordable stay, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception, as I think it might be noisier the closer to the road you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatleyNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear friend, thank you so much for choosing Motel Oasis and for your excellent review. We have worked hard to make our motel as family friendly as possible and it gives us great pleasure when our efforts are appreciated. We hope that we will see you again soon and please note that Gisborne council is installing a bicycle path between Gisborne and Wanui Beach that passes right in front of our motel. Also in case you visit us again, please put any special requirements you have in order for us to provide you with the perfect room! Many thanks from the Motel Oasis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We were so lucky to get a family unit at this wonderful motel in the high season. We were on a driving holiday across the North Island and we passed it on the way from Napier. The kids loved the pool and the playstation and us grown up loved the good service and the clean rooms! Unfortunately we do not visit NZ so often; otherwise we would be back!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Filly1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Filly, we are very glad that we managed to offer you a family unit in our busy period and we thank you for your perfect review. All the best from the Motel Oasis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This has been great value for money! Well decorated, very clean, with good toiletries, microwave and cutlery. Nice shower and excellent heat pump. Plus the owner is such a lovely lady. Great location, quiet place and nice pool area. We will definitely stay there again and will be recommending to friends as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 355Stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Stella, we would like to thank you for choosing Motel Oasis and for giving us a perfect score. We are also grateful that you will recommend us to your friends. We promise to give them the same level of service as we always do. We hope to see you again in your next visit to beautiful Gisborne. Kind regards from the Oasis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very clean, tidy, well decorated and great spa bath. My son enjoyed playing the playstation and the hosts were great. Most importantly our little shitzu molly could stay with us and the beach is not far for walkies. By far good bang for your buck in Gizzy. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudyrocksit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elgreko69, Owner at Motel Oasis, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear guest, we are very glad that you, your son and Molly enjoyed your stay and our little extras. We hope that you will visit Gisborne again and we hope to see you soon. All the best from the Motel Oasis team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
1.9 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.0 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#6 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
2.0 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Oasis

Property: Motel Oasis
Address: 5 Sponge Bay Road | Tamarau, Gisborne, New Zealand (Formerly Sponge Bay Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Oasis was recently refurbished into an elegant Sanctuary on the outskirts of Gisborne, only minutes away from Sponge Bay Beach and Wainui Beach. The ideal getaway spot! Beautiful landscaped gardens & solar-heated swimming pool surrounded by 15 stylish ground-floor air-conditioned units with FREE Unlimited Wireless Internet, 10 channel SKY, DVD player/Playstation (FREE library of 300+ movies/games), Microwave, Fridge, Kettle, Iron & Board, Hair-dryer, Heat Pumps/Electric Blankets. Secure FREE PARKING, FREE Bicycles, Scooters, FREE Laundry Facilities. We have wheelchair-friendly rooms, as well as family suites and studios. Conference room. Our staff will ensure you get the best time in our beautiful Motel and in Gisborne in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing