We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Gisborne Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Ocean Beach is a gorgeous, tropical gem by the beach. The units are huge, service impeccable and location right near Wainui Beach is hard to beat.

After arriving later in the evening post a long drive from Auckland, Kate and Hamish the managers were very welcoming, professional and lovely. Our room was huge, beautifully furnished and warm with the heating turned on before our arrival.

Our kitchen was self-contained and we cooked a late dinner with all utensils (plus more!) at hand. We were really surprised at the size and functionality of the kitchen. The fridge was far larger than at most motels, there was a lovely timber bench, full cooking facilities etc. Ocean Beach offers units that more like spacious apartments! We felt very pampered!

We had three great night's sleep. The bed was comfortable, room spacious and with lovely decor. Certainly it was nice not to have normal city noises and to wake with the smell of sea air.

There is a restaurant on site which offers delicious Mexican food. Wow, the dishes were large and super tasty! It was nice to meet a few of the super friendly locals which made our experience all the more authentic.

Overall, we found it difficult to fault Ocean Beach Motor Lodge. It provides so much more value than other motels we've stayed in. Grateful for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right hand side wing (where the office is) are slightly newer apparently and further fr...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear NZKateE
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and everything that Ocean Beach has to offer.
We hope you can visit us again sometime and enjoy waking to the smell of sea air once again!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here with a colleague on a business trip, in a two bedroom suite. Nice welcome when we arrived there after a long drive from Wellington. Room: Very spacious, comfortable temperature and well equipped. Bed: Comfortable. Hot water: Plentiful. Wildlife: Room came with a free Praying Mantis, which I played with for the duration of the stay, before re-introducing it into the wild. Location; Just a minute or two on foot to a fabulous beach and handy for the town of Gisborne. Noise: Some noise from the nearby highway (logging trucks), but I've heard a lot worse. Conclusion: I recommend this establishment to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the main highway as possible.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldbadger1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Oldbadger1960
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and what we have to offer here at Ocean Beach. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The family rooms are spacious and many many years ago I'd have considered them maybe even luxury. Today, the furniture has seen it's best days.

The oven didn't work at all (or we were not smart enough to turn it on, but tried all buttons, no reaction). Parts of the floor and blinds were broken/missing. The small flat TV in the second room showed a disturbing vertical black line in the center of the screen on all channels. The really huge flat TV in the livingroom doesn't have a reasonable signal, so what's the point of offering such a big screen at all? But all of these things are kind of normal or to be tolerated in New Zealand motels it seems.

This motel however failed, because it couldn't provide a good sleep for us. Room 2 is located just next to their restaurant which runs an extremely loud compressor all day and night, just a few meters from the sleeping room. It's rotating frequencies which kept us awake for several hours. Sorry, that's unacceptable for this high price range. Louder than every downtown megacity hotel as the sound is reflected by the concrete fence wall.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms close to the restaurant. Check the noise before you pay.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear NZLongTermTraveller
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Firstly, please know we were very saddened to read that you had not enjoyed your stay here with us. It is certainly our most fervent wish that ALL of our many guests enjoy their time at Ocean Beach and this is why we really appreciate feedback of all types as we certainly wish to address any issues that are brought to our attention.
We are very sorry that your sleep quality was marred by the noisy compressor. Thanks to your review alerting us we have addressed that problem and found a fault that led to this. This will no longer affect any units at all as the restaurant has relocated the compressor and it is housed far enough away from all units now.
Likewise, with your review alerting us to the tv with the black line, we have had that fixed also. We wish you had told us at the time about the oven as it is simply a matter of the timer being set correctly, sometimes little hands have a habit of fiddling with these things, so we have now had all oven timers by-passed so this inconvenience can't happen again.
We acknowledge your comments regarding carpeting/furniture etc and are very happy to say we are now in the process of refurbishing all of our rooms which is due to be completed by the end of the year and are quite sure that if you decide to give us another go, you would not be disappointed.
We did write to you immediately after reading your review expressing our disappointment and extending the offer of another stay and it is our hope that you will take us up on that the next time you are in Gisborne. Please feel free to contact us directly on info@oceanbeach.co.nz and it will be our pleasure to ensure your next stay with us is everything it should be.
Once again, thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The upstairs partments was modern, spacious, very well appointed as too the bathroom and bedroom. Good kitchen facilities too. Free and fast Wi-Fi (very handy). The Mexican restaurant just across the carpark from the motel is also worth a visit. Great food.

Just a great all round place to stay with very warm and accommdating hosts. Would stay again and also recommend to anyone heading to Gisborne.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Greg W
Thank you very much for your great review of Ocean Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and also for your favourable recommendations to other travellers.
We hope to see you again sometime!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed 3 nights and would definitely be returning there next time in Gisborne. The motel is visually appealing and the rooms are in a very tidy and working condition. The little patio at the end of the room is a bonus. That is why, given the exterior decor, it is hard to understand why the paintings on the wall lack imagination. although this is common to most motels in the world, somehow you expected to be surprised by having paintings matching the external features. Need air conditioning.

Room Tip: They are all good, the motel is within walking distance to the beautiful beach.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mennito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Mennito
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our outdoor patio area as well as our external architecture, if not our interior artwork. Being the artist that you are we are sure that appealing artwork on the walls would give you much pleasure, and we are happy to say that with our refurbishments taking place currently, artwork is one of the things that we are undertaking to improve upon.
It was such a pleasure to have you and your partner stay with us, we certainly enjoyed chatting with you and learning about your very interesting life.
We hope to meet you again one day and if your travels ever bring you to Gisborne again we would love to see you at Ocean Beach!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our two bedroom apartment was spacious modern and clean with a large courtyard containing outdoor seating and an umbrella. The comfy sofas and sky tv were appreciated on the rainy days we had ...there was a tv in the bedroom and free wifi. The managers were friendly and helpful. Very close to lovely Wainui Beach and not too far to drive to Gisborne. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvakiwihol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Luvakiwihol
Thank you so much for your very favourable review. We so appreciate hearing you enjoyed your time with us at Ocean Beach and everything that we have to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back sometime!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We weren’t sure what to expect from our summer holiday at Ocean Beach, but as it turns out, our 4-day stay there was as enjoyable as we could have hoped for. Managers Kate and Hamish were very warm and went beyond the normal realm to look after our needs, while always remaining polite and professional.

While it was a busy time for Gisborne, we enjoyed privacy on the coastal beaches - a short drive from Wainui village. Kate leant us her picnic basket and blanket to take to Eastwood Hill Arboretum, which was peaceful with acres and acres of incredible exotic and native trees.

Our family unit was the largest we’ve ever experienced, and really more like a tastefully designed apartment. We had a private garden area with table and chairs at the rear that we got max enjoyment from – though a few of the chairs were wobbly, the managers assured us Ocean Beach was getting a refurb come winter. Kitchen was very classy with full kitchen facilities, plunger coffee and a small carton of milk on arrival, bathrooms good, beds relatively comfortable and the lounge had leather couches, art, large flatscreen TV, DVD etc.

We treated ourselves to breakfast almost every day (determined to get max relaxation during our break) and they were all delicious. We extended our laziness by enjoying the outstanding Mexican meals and frozen Margaritas at the onsite restaurant/bar and Paua fritters at the café opposite.

Wainui is a very attractive village with the beach just across the road. It was nice going for long walks along the beach, swimming and watching the surfing. Again, our hosts were very warm and helpful and I’m more than happy to put forward an excellent review for Ocean Beach Motor Lodge. Great value for money, quality units, impeccable service.

Room Tip: Request a room with an outdoor courtyard, however I think most rooms have this. Better ask anyhow.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wills E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Wills E
Thank you so much for your glowing and detailed review. We are so happy to hear that Ocean Beach lived up to your expectations and that you were able to relax and enjoy your stay here with us.
We acknowledge your comments regarding the outdoor furniture that you had in your courtyard. We have been upgrading the outdoor furniture over the past year and unfortunately, the unit you were in, had not received the new furniture, but all remaining units will have the lovely comfortable new seating over the next year.
We are glad you enjoyed your picnic at Eastwoodhill Arboretum, one of Gisborne's most underused attractions in our opinion. As you say, the peacefulness of the place is just lovely.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us such a thorough and positive review.
We look forward to seeing you next time!
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
2.6 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.7 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
276 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
186 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Motor Lodge

Address: 7 Oneroa Road | Wainui Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range: £65 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at beautiful Wainui Beach on the scenic East Coast, Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, the perfect place to start your holiday. Fifteen superbly appointed one and two bedroom apartment-style suites and studios, some with spa. Enjoy a walk along the beach with the gentle breaking of the waves in summer and the ever changing drama of the ocean in winter. First city in the world to see the sun rise. Private tropical courtyard. Cooked or Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Free wifi and SKY Guest Select with more than 50 Sky channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Beach Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing