We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very clean ,excellent support services, Breakfast arrangenment delivered the night before very suitable for us as an old couple. When the restaurant opens again this will be an added bonus.
Kitchen was fully kitted out with all a traveler needed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Merv
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Ocean Beach. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure to have you.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Only stayed for one night but was very impressed by the high standard of room and the service at the reception desk was friendly and helpful. The room had a spa which was nice and clean, just great to sit in and enjoy a wine at the end of the day.
Good to have the local store across the road and a restaurant on site, will have to try this next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Peter H
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again some time.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Well managed motel just out of Gisborne but stones throw from the beach. Very quiet and 1 bedroom units spacious, clean and airy. Would definitely use property again. Although there is no restaurant there are plenty 10 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi MM R
Thank you for your review of Ocean Beach, we are glad you enjoyed what we have to offer and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked the 2 bedroom apartment, really clean and modern and lots of space for a family of 4. Good kitchen and nice courtyard to sit in. Close to local shop and a short walk to beach. Only small problem was the outside light was very bright and the children found it annoying when trying to get to sleep, though it did go off later in the night.




  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi Suzanne
Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased you enjoyed all that we have to offer at Ocean Beach. Thank you for your comments regarding the outdoor lighting affecting the children's bedroom. Our lights are timed to turn off just after 9.30pm, to give guests a chance to return from an evening out and get safely to their rooms. We do appreciate this can be late for children however, and we will look into the blind situation of this particular bedroom and see what may be able to be done to prevent light shining in.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with others and the helpful critique, it is appreciated.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very well set out unit equipped with everything we needed - we were pleasantly surprised. Well maintained and excellent service. Staff very friendly and helpful. Quiet location/room with private courtyard and outdoor furniture. Very reasonable price considering the quality of the facilities and service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi Julie
Thank you very much for your great review of Ocean Beach. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here recently when attending a friends 40th birthday party. Loved our large apartment, we had group of friends back the morning after for a big breakfast on the bbq and the owners were great about it - helping get things set up. Had'nt been to Gisborne before but we are now keen to return, can't think of a better place to soak up some summer sunshine. Beautiful beach across the road.

Room Tip: We shared a two bedroom with another couple - plenty of room, great kitchen, can't remember the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ange M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hi Ange
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time here so much and are looking forward to returning. It was a pleasure to see you and your group relaxing and having a happy time around the BBQ, we love being able to help provide enjoyment like that in any small way we can.
So, thank you once again, for sharing your experience at Ocean Beach with others. We look forward very much to hosting you again.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay have stayed a number of times and would definatly stay again. I haven't got anything else to say except that the people who organized this simple survey which I took some of my valuable time to complete should make it more user friendly

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Hi Paul
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoy your stays at Ocean Beach, we enjoy having you as a guest. We understand setting up an account with TA does take a few minutes to complete initially, so thank you very much for taking the time to do that so you could review us. The good news is, now that you have a at profile set up, you can review lots of other accommodation providers, restaurants etc very quickly and easily. As well as use to see what other travelers are recommending. TA is a valuable tool for both businesses and travelers alike, so good luck with it Paul! :)
Look forward to seeing you next time.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
2.6 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.7 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
277 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#12 of 26 in Gisborne
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
199 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
2.7 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Motor Lodge

Address: 7 Oneroa Road | Wainui Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range: £71 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at beautiful Wainui Beach on the scenic East Coast, Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, the perfect place to start your holiday. Fifteen superbly appointed one and two bedroom apartment-style suites and studios, some with spa. Enjoy a walk along the beach with the gentle breaking of the waves in summer and the ever changing drama of the ocean in winter. First city in the world to see the sun rise. Private tropical courtyard. Cooked or Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Free wifi and SKY Guest Select with more than 50 Sky channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Beach Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing