We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms - cold water only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Motor Lodge at christmas eve. The hosts were very friendly and provided us great food as we hadn't have an option to geht dinner. The room was large, well equipped, modern and clean. Unfortunately many moskitos and the noise from the street made it difficult to sleep. It was our first accomodation with cold water only.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tamsi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi Tamsi81
Thank you for your review. As you found out traveling the way you came around the remote East Coast on Christmas Day, services are limited so we were very happy to share our Christmas dinner with you when you arrived late on Christmas night and are glad you enjoyed it!
The weather over Christmas was rainy and then warm which is unfortunately the mosquitoes preferred weather. Each room has insect spray if needed, but most likely closing the windows would have taken care of this issue along with the traffic noise also.
We were most sorry to notice ourselves that the hot water was off briefly the following morning, which we discovered just after your early departure. It is certainly not a common occurrence and we apologise sincerely for this and wish you had told us as we could have fixed it in two minutes as it is just a matter of resetting the pilot light. As we have infinity gas hot water system there is no heating delay and hot water would have been available immediately. Once again we are very sorry you experienced that issue.
Thanks again for your review of Ocean Beach, we are glad you thought our rooms were great!
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ and wish you a happy 2014.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

My parents and I were recently travelling the East Coast and Ocean Beach Motor Lodge was amongst one of the highlights. The host were extremely courteous and friendly, the rooms are spacious and well appointed and the rates were very affordable. I would return there anytime and thoroughly recommend all my friends stay there. Top class!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Hi Andrew
Thank you so much for your great review of Ocean Beach! We are very happy you and your parents enjoyed your stay with us and will be recommending us to others. We will look forward to seeing you again next time!
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very clean ,excellent support services, Breakfast arrangenment delivered the night before very suitable for us as an old couple. When the restaurant opens again this will be an added bonus.
Kitchen was fully kitted out with all a traveler needed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Merv
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Ocean Beach. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure to have you.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Only stayed for one night but was very impressed by the high standard of room and the service at the reception desk was friendly and helpful. The room had a spa which was nice and clean, just great to sit in and enjoy a wine at the end of the day.
Good to have the local store across the road and a restaurant on site, will have to try this next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Peter H
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again some time.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Well managed motel just out of Gisborne but stones throw from the beach. Very quiet and 1 bedroom units spacious, clean and airy. Would definitely use property again. Although there is no restaurant there are plenty 10 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi MM R
Thank you for your review of Ocean Beach, we are glad you enjoyed what we have to offer and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked the 2 bedroom apartment, really clean and modern and lots of space for a family of 4. Good kitchen and nice courtyard to sit in. Close to local shop and a short walk to beach. Only small problem was the outside light was very bright and the children found it annoying when trying to get to sleep, though it did go off later in the night.




  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi Suzanne
Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased you enjoyed all that we have to offer at Ocean Beach. Thank you for your comments regarding the outdoor lighting affecting the children's bedroom. Our lights are timed to turn off just after 9.30pm, to give guests a chance to return from an evening out and get safely to their rooms. We do appreciate this can be late for children however, and we will look into the blind situation of this particular bedroom and see what may be able to be done to prevent light shining in.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with others and the helpful critique, it is appreciated.
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very well set out unit equipped with everything we needed - we were pleasantly surprised. Well maintained and excellent service. Staff very friendly and helpful. Quiet location/room with private courtyard and outdoor furniture. Very reasonable price considering the quality of the facilities and service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi Julie
Thank you very much for your great review of Ocean Beach. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards
Hamish & Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
2.6 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.7 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
281 reviews
0 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
200 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
3.1 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Gisborne
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Motor Lodge

Address: 7 Oneroa Road | Wainui Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range: £79 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at beautiful Wainui Beach on the scenic East Coast, Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, the perfect place to start your holiday. Fifteen superbly appointed one and two bedroom apartment-style suites and studios, some with spa. Enjoy a walk along the beach with the gentle breaking of the waves in summer and the ever changing drama of the ocean in winter. First city in the world to see the sun rise. Private tropical courtyard. Cooked or Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Free wifi and SKY Guest Select with more than 50 Sky channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Beach Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing