We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Beach Motor Lodge - the place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived on a rainy day to receive a very warm welcome from one of the owners. The one bedroom apartment was incredibly spacious, very clean and had all of the necessities for a comfortable stay. We were only there overnight but wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking at wonderful accommodation in Gisborne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanBeachMotorLodge, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. We like to ensure that all guests have a pleasant experience whatever the weather conditions. I am pleased you enjoyed our spacious units with the lovely courtyard. Also, our housekeeping staff consider guests to be important, by taking pride in maintaining their high standard of cleaning.

Regards
Olive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Although the accommodation was nice enough and had a very nice private courtyard, the restaurant and bar had been closed and as this motel is out of town this was once of the reasons we chose to stay here. The temporary manager had only started that week and she didn't know that it was closed when she arrived and had no idea why it wasn't open. She was very helpful though in recommending restaurants in Gisborne.

Room Tip: One the furthest away from the road - traffic noise from trucks at night is horrendous.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanBeachMotorLodge, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

We appreciate your feedback Jill and thank you. There is a plan to replace glass doors/windows with double glazing, which should address the noise issue. Also, with the restaurant closed at present, we are also addressing that issue. Guests will be able to order in a scrumptious meal, to enjoy with a wine, either in their lovely spacious unit or out in their private courtyard. However, with only 5 mins drive to the city restaurants, that is an option also.

Kind regards
Olive & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Staff is above and beyond courteous! Most pleasant stay ever! The beach on one side of our room and a hill with a horse and sheep on the other side. New, spacious, spotless rooms... I'd recommend Ocean Hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoresWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanBeachMotorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was lovely to learn that you compared our beaches to those in California. Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future.
Olive and Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just like stepping into House & Garden. Luxurious, well appointed and modern spacious unit. After a walk along the beach we enjoyed having dinner and a few wines in our own private courtyard. So relaxing in Gisborne's beautiful sunshine. What a gem - didn't want to leave.
Diane R

Room Tip: Ask at reception to have a cooked meal delivered to your room. Just great.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanBeachMotorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Diane
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased the weather stayed fine for the bride and groom. We enjoyed your company and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime in the future.
O & R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Welcoming and very helpful owners - was even able to borrow a surfboard for body boarding as the motel is very close to the wonderful surfing beach. It is 5 minutes drive from Gisbourne but in a great location - with village shop opposite that does the best fish and chips we have had in NZ! Apartment very clean, modern and comfortable with big TV in lounge, good selection of channels, and there is free wifi. Lovely couple of nights here.

Room Tip: All the apartments are of a high standard - modern, well laid out and comfortable (we had a look in...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi Ann
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Ocean Beach! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time spent here with us, it was a pleasure to have you. We are always happy to see guests enjoying our beautiful beach, it is what summer in Gisborne is all about!
Thank you for your comments regarding our apartments being clean, modern and comfortable - that is what we strive for! Thanks again and happy travels to you!
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I've stayed here once and I'll stay here again! In my mind there is no accommodation in Gisborne that compares to Ocean Beach. Why?
The rooms are the largest I have ever experienced.
The decor is very tasteful and grounds are kept well.
The service is consistently professional and helpful.
Excellent value for money.
It's at the most beautiful beach in Gisborne (in my mind!).

Ocean Beach is located ten minutes drive from Gisborne city and removed from the hustle and bustle. The Wainui village is very pretty and quaint with the most spectacular beach which stretches for kilometres, all the way up to the peninsular between Wainui and Makorori. It makes a fantastic morning walk watching that East Coast sun rise!

There are delicious burgers across the road and fish and chips up at Okitu. Town is a short cab ride away or 8km drive. The units are HUGE and most have rear tropical courtyards. The bathrooms, bedrooms and kitchens are super-sized compared to what you usually get for a motel / hotel. It feels a little like resort living and great bang for the buck!

If you want the genuine Gisborne / East Coast experience - this is it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Was unsure where to stay in Gisborne but decided to go with Wainui Beach and are so glad we did. Just out of town but so quiet and hardly anyone on the beautiful beach despite the lovely weather and safe swimming. 2 bedroom room was huge with private courtyard adding to space - plenty of room for a family of 5. Room was very clean and modern. Staff were all very friendly including the lady who did the daily room serving.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel-Bunny272, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi Ross
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ocean Beach. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and everything we have to offer here at Wainui, including our gorgeous beach. It was great to see your family enjoying it and making the most of our lovely summer days. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we hope to see you again!
Kind regards
Hamish and Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
2.6 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.7 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 26 in Gisborne
276 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
186 reviews
3.3 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Motor Lodge

Address: 7 Oneroa Road | Wainui Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range: £65 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at beautiful Wainui Beach on the scenic East Coast, Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, the perfect place to start your holiday. Fifteen superbly appointed one and two bedroom apartment-style suites and studios, some with spa. Enjoy a walk along the beach with the gentle breaking of the waves in summer and the ever changing drama of the ocean in winter. First city in the world to see the sun rise. Private tropical courtyard. Cooked or Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Free wifi and SKY Guest Select with more than 50 Sky channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Beach Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing