We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly and accomodating”
Review of Beachcomber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachcomber Motel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super friendly and accomodating”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Extra points for making a room available earlier than booked, due to a Napier Motel poor service and overbooking themselves.
Beachcomber welcomed us earlier, even though not the same room as booked. They moved us the next day to our booked spa room.
Excellent room - airconditioning, spa bath, sea views.
Easy walk to town centre, beach, corner store.
Top of my list now!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    27
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
33
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My Family stayed here for 5 nights on holiday in Gisborne. The staff were extremely polite and friendly, the services and hire rates for extras such as a Boogie board were very reasonable. If I visit Gisborne again I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely motel, upstairs room with sea views, clean, modern, simple. So good, stayed a second night! Easy walk to town and the wharf where there are some fine places to eat and sample wine. Great promenade along the beach for a good easy and flat run!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Caveman1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Only had one night in the motel as we were traveling through Gisborne. Facilities were all clean and tidy, staff were pleasant and the price of the the unit was great value. Right over the road from the beach and would stay again if in Gisborne

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Topdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This motel is right across the road from the beautiful Waikanae Beach. The hosts, Adele and Gary are very friendly, ensure that your stay was comfortable, and made us feel like apart of the family. Their staff are also friendly and serviced our unit extremely well every day. Our two bedroom unit was very spacious with two couches and a large dining table in the main room. We recommend the Beachcomber Motel to anyone desiring a relaxing holiday in one of the most idyllic regions in the North Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

As a Sales Rep that travels away from home every week its wonderful to find somewhere that feels like home! Adele & Gary are lovely hosts and are doing a wonderful job of up grading the property, the units have been all been redecorated, with lovely new bathrooms. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean with the added bonus of having private courtyards and being across the road from the beach!
I have travelled the world and am extremely picky when it comes to motels...Beachcomber gets a total thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in this motel in Jan this year for 1 night on recommendation from staff in the i-site office. We payed $105 and had a one bedroom unit with lounge/kitchen/diner.It seems a bit tired but is very clean It was ok for one night but we've stayed in nicer units for less money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank book99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.8 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Property: Beachcomber Motel
Address: 73 Salisbury Road, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing