We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Beachcomber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachcomber Motel
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was an older style 2 bedroom unit. Great value very comfortable and clean. Great location for us to easily drive to the Dawn Service on Anzac Day. Host was lovely very helpful and free wifi. We would happily recommend this value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

The host was very friendly and helpful. He gave us a free upgraded room. The room was private and comfortable. We only stayed one night, otherwise, we probably would have enjoyed using the nice patio area in the back. The rooms were updated and clean. I would definitely recommend this place if you are passing through Gisborne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DES_and_DAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed for one night whilst working away...very large unit with a sitting room right across the road from the beach. Very clean and comfortable. Owners/Managers very helpful. Nice patio out back to relax in the sun

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was a feature of our trip. A delightful unit with a view across a park to the sea.
Clean, immaculate in fact and quiet at night for restful sleep.
Ideal location and friendly efficient owner/operators and we therefore elected to stay an additional night
One disappointment tho was that we were unable to connect to the 'Zenbu' internet as was advertised as available. Management were surprisingly unable to help. This was particularly annoying & inconvenient for us, with our needing to visit the local 'isite' office where we were able to easliy connect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob and Di H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This motel had everything. very clean and tidy, nice kitchen and bathroom. Private courtyard off the bedroom. walk across the road through a small park and you're at the main Gisborne beach takes 2 mins. would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends. We stayed early january 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed in room 12 for five nights. The room was light, airy, clean and in excellent condition as was the decor. Unfortunately the weather was not as good as expected but the motel was ideally located for walking over the grassed reserve to the beach and along the front into Gisborne. The people were friendly & helpful and the view from the room & adjoining balcony most relaxing (over the grassed reserve to the sea).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 152ColinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Extra points for making a room available earlier than booked, due to a Napier Motel poor service and overbooking themselves.
Beachcomber welcomed us earlier, even though not the same room as booked. They moved us the next day to our booked spa room.
Excellent room - airconditioning, spa bath, sea views.
Easy walk to town centre, beach, corner store.
Top of my list now!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.8 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 26 in Gisborne
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
199 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Address: 73 Salisbury Road, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range: £58 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing