We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and Welcoming”

Waverley Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gisborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waverley Apartments
Ranked #2 of 13 Gisborne B&B and Inns
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Homely and Welcoming”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

What a great location, fabulous hosts, right on Waikanae beach and easy walk to Gisborne CBD and Wharf restaurants. ultra comfortable beds and always immaculate. breakfast ready when you want it and those added extras like turning on your electric blanket when you are out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homebythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Totally overwhelmed by the view from the penthouse apartment of the ocean on the doorstep.
Host very welcoming, and accommodating with extras in the fridge. Garage for car with washing machine available. Easy walk into centre of town, and beach right in front of the building. lovely latge apartment, clean and comfortable. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Saturday farmers market excellent quality fruit and vegetables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Highly recommended. Hosts amazing, extras such as full size shampoos, milk, bread etc a bonus. View great and kitchen amazing. Daily papers, extra towels, full garage for use. I accidentally booked one less night than required and Dail and Dennis kindly accomodated us in the B&B part of house. Cannot recommend enough, price is great too. Would definitely stay again. Beds are super comfy too!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Ever dreamed of absolute sea front, no overshadowing by high rise, a skip and a hop and you are in the ocean or spend a 5 minute walk and be in the Gisborne CBD then go no further. A modern spacious apartment well appointed, heaps of space and fantastic view up and down the coastline, always something to see. The hosts Dennis and Dail leave no stone unturned and make you feel so welcome. This is a standout.

Room Tip: Its the total top floor. Dail and Dennis also offer B&B suggest front room is best with beach v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homebythelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The apartment is fantastic. It's modern, clean, spacious and has a stunning oceanview. Walk out the door straight on to the beach, or o the other way for a 5 minute walk into town. You really feel quite regal sipping a drink on the balcony in the sunshine while watching families on the beach below.
Dail and Dennis are friendly and will go out of their way to help you, with the personal touch.
All the mod cons, microwave, dishwasher, stove (full-size), fridge with water dispenser and icemaker, Sky TV, WiFi internet (no surcharge and it's quick), access to washing machine (again. no extra charge) you even get to park your car in the garage. There are boogie boards and a barbecue available for use.
Definitely my first choice for accommodation when I return to Gisborne.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floydbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

From the minute I walked through the front gate of their beach-side apartments, Dail & Dennis treated me like a long lost friend.
I stayed in the penthouse apartment for the two nights of November 30th & December 1st, 2010 and enjoyed every second. The view is amazing, the rooms are immaculate and Dail & Dennis are the perfect hosts.
I did not have a vehicle but Waverley is an easy walk from central Gisborne and with the beach at the front door there are great walks in both directions.
If you're going to Gisborne do not miss out on staying at Waverley.

Merv Hunt ........ Cambridge, New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MervNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.6 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#14 of 26 in Gisborne
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#15 of 26 in Gisborne
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
3.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Apartments

Property: Waverley Apartments
Address: 287 Grey Street, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Gisborne
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing