We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gross place, horrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wainui Beach Motel

Wainui Beach Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gisborne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wainui Beach Motel
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gross place, horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

My husband and I made a reservation to stay there for 5 nights (we flew all the way over there from NYC for a wedding!) I made the reservations in advance, as suggested by the groom. Since the Ocean Beach motel was sold out and this was close to the beach, they recommended it. What a nightmare. On the outside, our room had cobwebs on the window (which was wide open) and a dirty dog bowl outside. Then when I opened the door, it looked like it was back in the 70's--really really old, and I'm sorry, but something that old cannot possibly be clean. I could not stay there, so I went to the owner and said I was going to stay at another hotel where my friends were staying. I said I would pay for 2 nights, but wanted a refund. She said there was nothing we could do, really rudely, no apologies for her gross motel. So we had to pay for the entire week at $135 NZ per night! Well, we did stay at a different hotel (yes, we paid double for our stay in Gisborne)and at the end of the week, when we returned the key, the owner said "oh, you should have told me you weren't staying, I would have tried to rent it out and reimburse you." Yet, we had told her we weren't going to stay, and she said there was nothing we could do. The long and short of it, is that this woman singlehandedly has given Gisborne, New Zealand a TERRIBLE name, without her disgusting hotel, rude attitude, and underhandedness in making us pay in full, then pretending as if she would have given is a refund by re-renting, when she had no intention of doing so. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya B, Manager at Wainui Beach Motel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I was not the manager at the time the reviewer had booked accommodation. While I sympathise and hope this one experience did not put the reviewer off Gisborne for life, I would like to point out that at that time the motel was perhaps a little dated, but it was a clean and well equipped classic kiwiana style beach motel which is the reason many guests prefer to book with us. Not to mention being out of the hustle and bustle of the main drag of town with Gisborne's most beautiful beach only a short stroll across the road. The reviewer may be pleased to know that since 2010 there have been ongoing renovations and 6 of the 9 units have been repainted and all units have new furniture and bedspreads. I have an offer for the reviewer if they would like to get in touch. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
3.3 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.8 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.8 mi away
Teal Motor Lodge
Teal Motor Lodge
#17 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Travellers Inn Motel
Travellers Inn Motel
#18 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#6 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainui Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainui Beach Motel

Property: Wainui Beach Motel
Address: 34 Wairere Road | Wainui Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest motel to the sand and surf at Wainui Beach!Wainui Beach is situated 5 minutes (by car) north of Gisborne city centre and 50 metres from the sand and surf of Wainui Beach.We are a classic kiwiana beach holiday motel with lush sub-tropical gardens and grassy lawns right outside our 9 spacious, self-contained 1 and 2 bedroom ground floor units.Access to Gisborne's most popular surfing and walking beach is literally a hop, jump and a skip away! We are pet friendly and your family dog will love the long golden sandy beach to run and play on, as will the kids! Outside of the holiday season (Dec/Jan) it is practically your own private beach. A little piece of paradise on the East Coast.This is the perfect location for your annual summer holiday or for a short winter break when the sun is shining only in Gisborne! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing