We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofra Turkish Cafe

Sofra Turkish Cafe
Ranked #9 of 77 Restaurants in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family Cafe. BYO. We accept phone orders and bookings.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Finding good coffee in a strange town can be a risky business. Do you look for the place with the best signage, best decor, most customers or just take a punt? We tried Sofra because it was Turkish and hoped that meant the coffee was good. It was a lot more than that. It was spot on. Mine was a double shot espresso which really tests the blend and the maker. Hers was an extra shot latte, so different from the espresso that many coffees just simply fail to ba able to do both jobs adequately.
Whether the owner who served us had two different blends, had found the perfect coffee or was simply a mastercraftsman is hard to judge, but we were both so taken with our drinks that we had another. Probably the best cafe in New Zealand. Thanks. We loved our time there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, NZ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The kebabs are huge and full of a variety of salads, sauces and meat. The large kebab for $10.50 could easily be enough for 2 people. Chips are especially crunchy and delicious. A good, inexpensive meal in a pleasant sit-down setting. The coffee is great too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mkj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Filled with bulk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I had been referred to you by a client who enjoys your kebabs. I...... Did not. A kebab with chicken has always been my favorite, however this kebab was bulked up with everything but chicken. Really didn't enjoy the flavour and felt I paid for the leftovers at the end of the night. Rice???? Surely not!

Helpful?
1 Thank intootravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff helped us through some unfamiliar items on the menu and my mixed meat iskender was superb as was my wife's veggie meze. As a consequence of this meal we sought out this cuisine and these dishes elsewhere, but none bettered Sofra. Great food, service and value for money - what more could you want ? Should we return to Gisborne we shall eat here again without doubt.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Good food, friendly and helpful staff...just great! When we are in Gisborne again, we will surely return to this devine eatery. The service was absolutely tremendeous..My compliments to the owners! This is a MUST, when in Gisborne!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sofra Turkish Cafe also viewed

Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to Sofra Turkish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing