We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but great location”

Waikanae Beach Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waikanae Beach Motel
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dated but great location”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Booked this motel for a last minute trip to Gisborne and got the room with a sea view. Upon arrival I was greeted by the owner's friend (I assume) who was nice enough but didn't really know what to do. I wasn't shown or pointed to my room - just told what number - so it was lucky it was the one with the sea view :-)

Decor/furniture is pretty dated, and I'm fairly sure the door from the balcony into the bedroom wouldn't lock. Other than that, no complaints - I'd probably stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eranah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
16
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is my 3rd business trip to Gisborne this year and the 3rd time I have been left disappointed with the accommodation. (NB 3 different locations used)

Why? The reviews of Waikanae Beach Motel were decent on Trip Advisor, the picture from the road is appealing.

Positives: warm friendly reception, the owners are on holiday and their friend was most helpful. Clean, tidy and fairly spacious room with a reasonably new TV, decent number of channels. The location is quiet, unlike the motels on Gladstone road and this assisted in my decision to stay.

Negatives: The bedroom decor is ok but bathroom is dated and leads you to believe this is a left over from the 80's.

The room has a textured ceiling which has sparkles and has large unappealing fan with a light.

As a suggestion, to modernise the room and make it more appealing with an average budget, the textured ceiling should be removed and re-painted. The bathroom needs to be updated with a modern sink, shower and a dual flush toilet.

Remove the single bed and provide a couch, this would alter the appearance immensely.

Finally, one small thing, there is no clock / clock radio in the room.... <$30 will remedy this.

I would imagine this accommodation would be appreciated by a budget minded traveller, however i believe its not up to the standard required to attract the business person.

Room Tip: I had room # 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst touring New Zealand in April 2013.

At NZ$100 per night I have no complaints at all.

My room was clean and tidy. Decent options on TV channels (Including Sky Sports).
A free newspaper each morning. Lady owner and her staff were very friendly and helpful.

2 minute walk to a great (and mostly empty) huge beach !!
10 minute walk to Gisborne CBD.

I would definitely recommend this motel at the above price (and maybe a little more) in order to relax and explore Gisborne

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirLesofBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I had done a lot of research on Trip Advisor to select our accommodation for our group of 6 on our 3 week holiday to NZ North Island, so I was disappointed to find that this motel did not live up to it's 3 to 4 rating. We booked a 2 bedroom and a studio room and both were in need of a good renovation. The 2 bedroom was on the ground floor. On opening the door a stale smell greeted us and it was obvious that nothing had changed in this room for many years. It was not filthy but not as clean as we would have expected. The carpet needed a good shampoo and the curtains had a tear and a dirty mark. The very old kitchen cupboards smelled damp and there was no lining in the drawers or cupboards. There was a lot of plumbing noise from upstairs units as well as noise from those occupants moving around. The studio unit was very large but once again needed a makeover. The carpet badly needed to be replaced. There was a trolley in the room which looked like it had been rescued from the refuse tip and I couldn't work out why it was needed anyway. The next disappointment was the filthy state of the laundry. The floor had not been swept for many days/weeks and the washing machine had not been cleaned for a long time either. Next we wanted to use the barbecue which we found outside another unit. It had not been cleaned for a long time either but when I queried if we could use it the motelier advised that we could move it round to our unit and that she would have it cleaned, which is what happened. The towels in this establishment were on their last legs and needed to be replaced. They were fraying around the edges and very thin. Generally, I have found that you can have a couple of things you don't like in a motel but can overlook them but in this case everything added up to an unpleasant stay so we shortened our stay by a day. Of course when you find quite a few things are unacceptable you start noticing others. One positive was the free wi-fi.. For the amount we paid (which was the most on our whole trip), we would not recommend Waikanae Beach Motel and would not stay there again in it's present condition.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We booked this motel because it was close to the beach, a short trip to the city, economical and close to where we needed to visit family and friends. We had a great unit, No 15, which had everything we wanted. The bonus was that No 15 was tucked around the back of the main block and was very quiet and private. Great friendly hosts, good value for money, clean and tidy, can't go wrong people!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

A great motel in a great location . Terry and Marg go above and beyond in all areas of service . We stayed in a spacious family unit and had amazing weather , lots of swims at the beach across the road that is perfect for young children . A great summer holiday !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nz_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed four nights, so we basically didn't want to spend too much per night, and chose this motel for two reasons: Very close to lovely Waikanae beach for morning swims, and for reasonable walking distance to restaurants in the evenings. With those two objectives this was a great place to stay at a reasonable price. But all the rooms on the top floor were booked, so we had one on the ground floor, which was a bit less great, no view and really nowhere just to sit outside and drink morning tea f.ex. Anyhow, we knew this already when we booked so that was OK. We spent out days touring the area anyway.
Our room was very spacious for two people, separate bedroom. Nothing was new or flash, but overall clean and neat. Bed was comfy, and it was a quiet location.
Friendly hosts, they recommended USSCo restaurant which was excellent. We also liked the Italian-ish restaurant Fettuccine.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.7 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 26 in Gisborne
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
197 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#7 of 26 in Gisborne
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikanae Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikanae Beach Motel

Property: Waikanae Beach Motel
Address: 19 Salisbury Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikanae Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waikanae Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing