We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Working stay”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

captain cook is a average motel. This is a motel that is a good stay for working people who don't mind a bit of noise it has pently of parking and ok size rooms. There is a large depo type place right behind the motel that is quiet at night and a busy road out the front. Rooms were very clean and tidy. flat screen TV that took alittle time to work out how to use them. Nice good size beds and a fairly large bathroom that had windows that opened out to the people outside in the next room felt like i was been watched in the bathroom.The office staff were nice enough but didn't go out of there way to make us welcome. There is a good park across the road and it is not to far to town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    32
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
38
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Captain Cook Motor Lodge is a fairly routine motel in a fairly routine place. The standard rooms are large and clean with a decent bed and bathroom with spa bath. The downside is no heating/air con in these rooms, which can make them uncomfortable in the warmer months. The road outside has a lot of lorries and noise can carry from the port, which could be annoying for the light sleeper as the doors and windows don't really insulate sound that well.
The location doesn't seem great when you get there, but you can walk into the centre easily and quickly (if you wanted to).
The motel does have a restaurant unusually (was filled with highway maintenance crew when I was there)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Second time staying here, and would stay again.

Overall sentiment the same as my previous review, it's good and located well, but nothing makes it stand out as great.

Giving it 4/5 this time 1) as a continental breakfast came as a free extra, 2) it was the best deal I could find in Gisborne for a motel especially one located close enough to city centre, 3) there is a 2 seater couch in the room, 4) quite a good selection of TV channels including 2 Sky movies 2 Sky sports and a couple of other Sky channels along with various free-to-air channels including Sommet Sports.

On the downside as mentioned in my previous review there's no aircon, only a ceiling fan and if you're not a warm/hot weather person you're going to need it on the top setting which makes a little bit of noise of course. There's only 3 quite small openable windows and one of those is in the bedroom, so not much chance of a natural cross-breeze unless it's quite a windy day.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed here this week and would be very happy to recommend, especially for travellers on a budget. From the warm welcome at reception to the eco-friendly toiletries, everything was just great. The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped.Although a motel, I could hear nothing through the walls (a first!) and apart from some road noise in the morning, it was very quiet. The beach is just across the road and Gisborne's shops and restaurants are a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed here recently with a tour group. Rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean, and I didn't notice the road noise that others have mentioned.

What really impressed me was how they handled my fairly extensive dietary restrictions (no dairy, wheat, onion, garlic or a list of other things) in the restaurant. We had meals included in our tour package and they provided a buffet meal for our group, but having received notification of my restrictions in advance, had prepared a small portion of every meal choice especially for me so that I did not miss out. The food they provided was hearty and tasty.

To have one night on the trip where the restaurant staff had read the dietary restrictions we had sent ahead and had prepared something for me was a very pleasant surprise.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lexy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The location has its pluses and minuses. It's directly across from a beautiful beach but it is on a road busy with logging trucks. However, there was no issue with noise as the spacious, comfortable rooms were very quiet. We were very appreciative of our hosts friendly and accommodating manner, they were informative and helpful in every way. We were especially happy with the on-site laundry facilities and the little back deck behind our room. Free WiFi was another plus!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyBJax_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Over the past year I have stayed here about four times for one or two nights each time thru work and have found it a great place to stay at, nice quiet clean rooms with sky tv and free wifi, free laundry as well, good restaurant and very friendly helpful management and staff, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.5 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
196 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Motor Lodge

Property: Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Address: 31 Awapuni Road | Waikanae Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Cook Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Cook Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing