We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful view from the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a lovely lodge in a great setting; the gardens are beautiful, and there is a walk down to the beach (for the very adventurous - it is a steep climb back up). You can always drive of course. They have a semi cave too with glow-worms if you want to venture out at night. The deck outside the restaurant is lovely, perfect for a summer's day. Some of the rooms have a deck outside, looking directly out to the sea; ask for one of those. We stayed there the first time, and the next time we were further back. Rooms are clean, but windows are hard to open! It was hot in our room. The service was very friendly, but they were short staffed for the morning breakfast - it took a long while to get the food, but there loads of apologies and smiles which helped immensely. Took my own hairdryer - didnt see one in the drawers.

Room Tip: there was no fitness centre and I didnt know any of the rooms were self catering? The best rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88Linda59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015

We agree it is so beautiful here and one can only experience this is they so choose. Thank you for taking your time to review us online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Since our last trip in this remote area a few more bed and breakfast accommodation options seem to have opened up. However this motel has been here for many years and is a pretty spot to stay a night with majestic views over Hicks Bay. Be warned to keep an eye open for the signs on the road telling you how far the entrance is as access to the property is on a hill with two blind corners. The night's accommodation was deducted on booking so apart from payment for dinner there was no payment required on site. Check in was efficient and although we were not personally shown to our unit the directions were easy to follow. The rooms are showing signs of their age with wood timbered walls not being overly fashionable at present. However the bed linen was stylish and sheets and towels were beautifully presented in the shape of swans. The bathroom is very1970's with an old style wash basin and a low pressure shower. However everything was functional....we made sure we did our few dishes in the morning so we would avoid the extra $30 charge! The vertical blinds did not make the room quite dark enough for us and we had to keep the skylight window closed as the blinds fluttered too much in the breeze to allow us to sleep peacefully.

Room Tip: There are a range of room types at different rates but it is worth paying extra for a great view ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015

We remember the happy times and a good sleep is always part of that. Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Fantastic location. Fabulous views. Needed a hair dryer - kept in office due to them being stolen - along with irons and sharp knives. Such a shame a few spoil it for everyone else. (Apparently no one ever steals an iron!). We had booked a self catering unit but were checked into a unit where it was impossible to prepare any food. We had decided to eat in the restaurant so it wasn't a problem but it could have been.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassandra880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

At Hicks Bay we employ locals who whanau have protected this area for thousands of years. I have to give credit to my staff for your comments of comfort. All the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My colleagues stayed during the storm and arrived in the dark and very hungry. Their hospitality were excellent when we arrived and the rooms were very adequate. The meals were very nice and tasty. The view was spectacular in the morning even though it was raining and grey. I would definitely suggest and will stay there again when I am in the area. Thank you Hicks Bay Motel Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ak1n1h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Im thinking a good storm on the East Cape might be the next adventure tourism hot spot. You were very lucky to experience it. Have fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in one of the obstructed view rooms, and they are good value for money. They are a bit dated but have a good bed, and good bathroom facilties. The dinner in the restaurant was pretty average (chips were cold, batter of fish was not so nice, i asked for sauce on the side and got it over my food), but there are no other options in Hicks Bay. Maybe it was because of Easter and were they not used to being it this busy. Employees are friendly though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Your comments have been taken to heart. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

While having delightful retro touches, the important things like bedding, shower and kitchen facilities were all we needed in this delightfully situated motel, with its cliff-top situation overlooking Hicks Bay. Helpful but unobtrusive hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for your time writing this review........Nature is New Zealand's new Luxury and you will find a lot of luxury in Hicks Bay. Enjoy your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We phoned to book at 4.30pm, not a problem said Jody, it will take to 2 1/2 hours drive from Gisborne, she let the kitchen know so we were able to arrive, settle in our room & head to the restaurant & enjoy a drink at the bar & leisurely scrumptious meal, before heading back to our comfortable room. Nothing is too much bother for the hosts here and what a gorgeous location overlooking Hicks Bay. Definitely our "place to stay" when travelling around the East Cape on either business or pleasure.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your trip around The Pacific Coast Highway one of New Zealand's great touring routes. All the best to you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
75.8 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
75.5 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
280 reviews
75.0 mi away
Teal Motor Lodge
Teal Motor Lodge
#19 of 26 in Gisborne
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.8 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 26 in Gisborne
43 reviews
75.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 26 in Gisborne
140 reviews
75.8 mi away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hicks Bay Motel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Address: 5198 Te Araroa Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hicks Bay Motel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...where the morning sun first meets the horizon...1960s Kiwiana - defining what it is to be Kiwi. Set on a 14 acre bluff, 250 meters above sea level, in historic and botanical protected -- unspoiled -- countryside. where peace and tranquility abound. Overlooking the beautiful Hicks Bay Waterways 40 rooms with 175 person total capacity. AMENITIES. Outdoor Swimming Pool. Bush walks. Restaurant -- 60 person seating capacity. Breakfast and Dinner prepared by Maori chef with freshly prepared sauces, vegetables - served homestyle. Shop and Bottle Store. Internet access, Payphone, and Guest laundry. Playground and Pool Table. Glowworm Grotto and Rock Fishing. East Cape Maritime Lighthouse accessible to the public, 35km.Located midway between Opotiki and Gisborne on the Pacific Coast Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hicks Bay Motel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hicks Bay Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing