We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Paradise Point
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for a stop over”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is not a resort style accommodation and merely fantastic for a short stop over. Very modern and clean with friendly staff. We stayed in a two bedroom unit to house our family of four and it's large and comfortable. It has laundry facilities which was used and very welcomed by our family who was on a driving holiday. The kitchen has all items that is required, but was not used during our stay. The view itself for us was both the carpark and the neighbouring pool plus the log factory which was great to watch. We were a bit frightened when we arrived and saw the disposable ear muffs in the bathroom, but these were not needed we were informed that this is when the winds are gale forced. You can walk to a restaurant called essco, which is brilliant and highly recommend. Also a short drive to the opposite of the hotel and up the hill the view is brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParadiseCoffeeDrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    98
    23
    16
    0
See reviews for
35
113
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I regularly stay at the Portside for work. One bedroom city side. Overlooks a car park, but means no port noise. Kitchen is satisfactory. Super clean and room is up to date furniture. Beds and pillows are very comfy and bathroom is lovely. Entrance might be hard to find if you don't know your way around. Staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: City side if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

and my room had terrible views across a car park. Nice touches are missing such as a suitcase stand and large mirror. overall feels more like an apartment blading with no bar or restaurant visible anywhere. location is central, but I would not stay there again as it has no atmosphere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omokoroa Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Given the choice of up market accomodation in Gisborne is farily limited to say the least.
This would easily be the pick of a fairly average bunch. Tucked away on the Portside of town you could be forgiven for getting lost trying to find the entrance, as its not very easily found. The result of having to fit a Hotel onto a smaller site...or just bad design/layout?? That aside the hotel is very tidy, rooms very modern and staff very friendly. I wouldnt call the harbourside views anything special, unless looking out over port logging operation excites you. i always find a Hotel that doesnt have its own resturaunt alittle devoid of atmosphere or character, and i suppose the Portside suffers from the exclusion of one here as well.
That said i have stayed here several times and have always had pleasent experiences.if your looking for a meal tho avoid the Breakers cafe downstairs as it is just plain bad. there is a five star resturaunt about 100mtrs down the road that wont disappoint.

Room Tip: Paying slightly more for the Harbourside isnt worth it in my opinion as the view doesnt warrant the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
224 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have stayed here before for work but not as a holiday maker. This is quite an upmarket hotel for its location in Gisborne. Check in was prompt and we were advised that we had been upgraded to a premium room. Although the room was on the third floor the view was out over at the logging wharf not what we would call a premium view! Maybe 2-3 rooms along would have had a great view towards Young Nicks Head. The rooms and balconies on the west side were cloaked in afternoon sun whereas our east facing room mid afternoon was chilly and quite dark without the lights on. Even in the morning the sun could not seem to reach in under the balcony roof. The room had a full kitchen which reduced the bedroom space and there would have been an opportunity to have some comfortable chairs instead of so much kitchen. The mix of slate floor in the kitchen area with carpet is a trap for stubbed toes at night when visiting the bathroom in the dark! The TV was tiny and located in a small cabinet. We could not get sky sports on the TV which was disappointing when there was a rugby game we had hoped to see. However, the internet access was the easiest to use of our entire holiday. Overall quite good value for money and a handy location to the main street.

Room Tip: West facing rooms with balconies are bathed in Gisborne afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked a long weekend stay at Portside Hotel for a discovery weekend in Gisborne. Great location - handy to walk to and from the City Centre, and nearby dockland where there were a selection of restaurants and plenty to watch the world go by!

Our room was super comfortable - large, clean, tidy and the Queensized bed was oh so comfortable.

Would definitely recommend Portside when visiting Gisborne.

Reception staff were warm and welcoming and attended to any request we had - from sights to see to where to eat and drink.

Room Tip: If a ship is in Port then I would request a City side room, but you may not know shipping movements...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Best part of our stay here was the balcony & view from our room. Service was poor, tv reception was poor, room was very small & overpriced, cleaner walked into room without even knocking 1st & before we checked out & there was NO compendium folder in room which should be a must for all visitors new to the area, however was handy location to restaurants etc within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank and Tina ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#13 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection

Property: Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
Address: 2 Reads Quay, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
#3 Family Hotel in Gisborne
#5 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing