We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$206
View deal
Hotels.com
US$200
View deal
eDreams
US$206
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
CheapTicketsUS$200
Orbitz.comUS$200
Trip.comUS$205
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
140
128
40
22
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
128
40
22
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river comfortable chairs full kitchen the ground floor separate bedroom close to town dishwasher parkside balcony tv interconnecting oven receptionist logs lounge channels proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

My wife and I stayed in a superb one bedroom spacious suite with a balcony overlooking the car park, which was fine for us as we could sit out in the sun. Our suite had a kitchenette, dishwasher,washing machine and tumble drier. It was like being at home. We had some lovely meals in the Rivers pub. There are numerous lovely beaches nearby. Gisborne is a lovely place to relax and unwind.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Richard T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you felt at home in one of our apartment, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in your 'home away from home'.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Book an apartment to have washing machine and dryer in-apartment. Close to restaurants. Easy parking. Air con in bedroom as well as in lounge, bathroom large with good bench space. Prefer to not have to step over spa bath to have shower, but plenty of points to hang onto.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Ranipuss,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

my wif and i spent a few days at the portside on an anniversary trip away to gisborne. We found it a nice enough place with some full time tenants and tourists; certainly close to everything in the middle of town, views out over the river and the port, A nice new footpath / cycleway passes the hotel , Nice beaches close by as well

Date of stay: February 2017
Thank AndieM717
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Andie M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel was booked for us by the travel company we came with. Upon arrival we assumed this was a brand-new hotel as everything looks so new clean and well looked after. When in fact it is over 10 years old.
The room we had is a suite, in the kitchen it has all the appliances including washer and dryer one would expect in your own kitchen.
As other reviews have stated only one side of the hotel has a river/port view. We were on the other side looking out onto the car park and a 20 foot brown metal wall.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Andyb999999,

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We rented the 2 bedroom Penthouse. Awesome view, nice and quiet, extremely spacious in living, fabulous kitchen, staff outstanding - helpful, friendly, enthusiastic, couldn't complain at all about the staff at all. Reasonably priced! To improve - update lounge room suite, not family friendly or overly comfortable, bigger TV in lounge room and put tv's in bedroom, points are there, just no tv's, couple of bar stools in kitchen would be awesome too and more than 2 chairs for balcony, need built in or hanging space in second bedroom. Gap between floor and bottom of glass rail on balcony feels too high, gave me heart palpitations when outside with my toddler. Otherwise, great price, absolutely spotless clean, feels like a home away from home. Private lift and apartment clean daily with fresh milk

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank DanAndLeanne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Leanne R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we have taken on board your suggestions for improvement on our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews