We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, Trendy and Delicious Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of USSCo Bar & Bistro

USSCo Bar & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 77 Restaurants in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly, Trendy and Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrived before dinner service and were keen for a drink and nibble. They kindly seated us on the couches, and gave us a food treat to keep us going until the dumplings we had ordered arrived. They went beyond the call of duty and the food was amazing. Trendy and cool set up and atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    96
    14
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“USSCO in Gisborne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This restaurant not only gives excellent meals, your always get a little extra! The staff go out of their way to make you comfortable

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Aust
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fitted us in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

It's Easter Sunday, overnighting in Gisborne and after a late afternoon walk realised pretty much most of Gisborne was closed, apart from a number of cheap and cheerful take aways.

Couldn't believe our luck, fine dining less than 1 minutes walk from our overnight stay, The Senator Hotel. Opened the red door, walked in and explained we didn't have a reservation. Things didn't look good at first but the hostess quickly found us a small table toward the rear of the restaurant.

Apart from the fact that literally nothing else was open in Gisborne we would have been so disappointed to have missed the wonderful evening at USSCo Bar and Bistro.

As one would expect on a holiday weekend, there were a couple of things not available on the menu, both of which my wife have chosen to order. No big deal, the substitutes were great. That is if you enjoy duck ravioil as a replacement for the crayfish ravioli.

We wouldn't hesitate to return as the lightly crumbed snapper was very tasty, the Porterhouse steak was cooked to perfection, the local Gisborne Pinot Gris, Brunton Street was good and the naughty chocolate tart with berries and marshmallow just too good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnw097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont forget the prawns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely meal though couldn't find the prawns in my main but the sweet waitress delivered extra in a small side dish. Lively crowd
Good Ambience

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnS629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Candle Lit Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

One time, we went looking for good food to enjoy and then there was a power cut!! No problem for USSCO, we enjoyed a wonderfull candle lit meal cooked on gas (i presume) in the shadows. Faultless! I love the bar / wine list. There is a cute courtyard ~ Al fresco, and I hear the "DAY OF THE TACO" (pop up bar upstairs on friday nights) is worth checking out.
I am from Gisborne and trust the chef and kitchen. Nice also for a dessert and coffee, or just a glass of good times....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed USSCo Bar & Bistro also viewed

Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to USSCo Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing