We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended for quality and friendliness”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest on Ward

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest on Ward
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for quality and friendliness”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here for two night s in May 2014.

I think it was Robert on reception who was extremely friendly and helpful, despite the mayhem of some renovations being done to the property! He remained cool, calm and collected throughout!

Although the bedding configuration in the original room was wrong, we were quickly moved to another room and Robert went out of his way to personally make up our beds (he told us he wasn't very good at making beds but he rates up there with the best!)

The unit was spacious and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable. Not much choice for TV watching, but that wasn't our reson for being there, so not a major deal for us.

The property is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Lisa T. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Quest on Ward last month. It was good to meet you both and it is great that you enjoyed our location and facilities. Usually we are pretty good at making sure the room set up is right, but thanks for your patience on that day. There are lots of conferences in Hamilton and with our central city location, it is an easy walk everywhere, including Claudlands Event Centre, as you found out. We look forward to welcoming you here again sometime. regards Robert (the apprentice bed maker)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    72
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
46
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Quest on Ward for 3 weeks while visiting family and would highly recommend staying here. Location and room were excellent with everything you would need for an enjoyable stay and Robert was very friendly and helpful. Was everything we could have wished for and more!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Alison A. We enjoyed having you visit with us here in the heart of Hamilton city and support your son during his last few weeks of his course. Hamilton is a great central point to explore the caves, beaches, thermal and cultural areas, Hobbiton and national parks all just a day trip from our comfortable and warm serviced apartments. Thank you for choosing Quest on Ward and for becoming part of our family of guests here. regards Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great location - walk across the road to the coffee club for breakfast each morning before work, then around is a large array of restaurants to chose from at night, it is also very close to the river which I walked along each night before dinner.

The staff were very friendly & extremely helpful & went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

Well appointed and spacious room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear theluddys. We appreciate your time to review your stay at Quest on Ward. It was great to welcome you and it is good to see you enjoyed your time in Hamilton. Our super central loctation cannot be beaten for shopping, cafes and entertainment too - all 1 street from Victoria Street, so it is much quieter at night than most city properties. We do hope to be of service to you again soon. Regards Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

A friend and I booked a studio room . It was really spacious and had full kitchen facilities. The service was really nice and it's so close to the shopping and restaurants in hamilton. Parking is a bit of a mission but cheap and ok given it's right in town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Theluddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Theluddys. It is great to hear you enjoyed your weekend break to the happening heart of Hamilton city. Our lovely Studio apartments have the same full facilities as the One Bedroom apartments with Kitchens and laundry facilities and a balcony of course. Perfect for a short stay or longer and interesting to note that these our smallest apartments are still bigger in size than the many of the hotels in the surrounding area. A weekend break with great food and some retail therapy is just what the doctor ordered! Come and enjoy Centre Place Mall, the Casino and loads of cafes all within a stroll of our front door. regards Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed two nights in Quest on Ward and was very impressed. The apartment was clean, modern, quiet for its location right in the heart of the city and warm. The apartment had natural light, washing/dryer machine for long stays and excellent apartment facilities. The parking for the car is in a close but security tight parking lot so its best to pull up outside the apartment, unload then park the car.

I would stay again and if you like shopping its a dream location. The windows are double glazed so keeps in the warmth and sound out.

Excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear BuddyNZ. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Hamilton and Quest on Ward was part of the great experience here. For anyone looking for a great base to explore Hobbiton, the Waitomo Caves, Sanctuary Mountain and many beautiful parks, Hamilton is hard to beat. Retail therapy and wonderful cafes are also good for the soul ! We look forward to seeing you again soon. regards Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

After a rather hectic day - and the unexpected need of accommodation - i found this little gem after being turned awag (or ignored) by the bigger chains. Robert (the owner) greater me on arrival and checked me in efficiently and told me all the things i needed to know. The room was spacious - all the amenities I required including a washer/dryer.
Would definitely recommend

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Inoxalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review and finding us here in the heart of the city - Ward Street You had certainly had a rough day and we were happy to be of service and some sanctuary. We hope all is going well now for you and hope to see you again sometime. regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Quick and efficient check in and check out. Great room and spacious. We especially liked the separate room and able to watch the tv privately in the bedroom as well as in the lounge. Really appreciated having a kitchen to cook in and a large fridge for our use. Was most impressed to find a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom. Very useful. I liked being able to let ourselves in with a special swipe button. Access to the hotel is quite easy, once you know how. outside parking at the entrance to the hotel. Only a couple of buildings from Victoria St on Ward to the left if heading towards Te Rapa direction. Bank directly across the road, and the 24hour dining also. Very convenient to pop in before heading back to your room. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were located to the back of the hotel which we found quite private even with the door open. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Rona. We are glad you found our home away from home in the heart of Hamilton. We enjoyed your visit and saw you could leave the car and walk to great food and shopping all around us. A great break away for the weekend! see you again soon, regards Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Ward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Ward

Property: Quest on Ward
Address: 42-47 Ward Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Ward 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the happening heart of Hamilton city the Quest on Ward serviced apartments offer studios, one and two bedroom apartments all with full kitchens including an oven, dishwasher and microwave. Wifi (chargeable) for business or leisure and a washing machine/clothes dryer in every apartment. Almost all apartments have a balcony to view the city sights, shopping malls, cafes and the casino only a few steps away. Inside, everything is provided as your home away from home and a peaceful retreat in the downtown area. Hobbiton, the Waitomo Caves, Raglan Beaches and mineral spas all within an hour of Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Ward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing