We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a motel accommodation with excellent service”
Review of Ashwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ashwood Manor
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2009

as a motel, this place exceeds all the expectations. very clean, centrally located, very helpful and friendly owner (genuinely helpful and pleasant in everyway).
only minus is there's no free broadband and internet connection through surfspot was slow. but other than that, a great place to stay for short trips.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHfromSydneyinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2009

After staying in some impersonal hotel on my first night in Hamilton, I followed a colleague's advice and moved to the Ashwood Manor motel.

From now on I will always stay there: from the moment of arrival where Bill greeted me like a long lost friend, through the frosty morning when he cleared my car windows of ice, to Jean's home-made porridge in the morning and the library of books, the Ashwood combines all the best points of a classic Kiwi motel. The spa bath is a brilliant touch, and I appreciated the advice on restaurants and the selection of breakfast options.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YetAnotherWorkTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We needed a quiet night and yet be close to Waikato hospital and that's what we got. Noisy "boyracers" are infamous in Hamilton and at this motel (unit 10) we didn't hear a thing and got a good night's sleep. The room was immaculately clean and warm. The spa bath was a bonus. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

The Ashwood Manor is really a very good motel. It is only five minutes walk from Victoria Street and sits on a hill overlooking the CBD. It's location is very good. The hosts are very hospitable, even pouring water on the ice that had formed on the rear window of my car without me even asking. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the furnishings pleasant. The bed was a little firm but the linen adequate. The shower pressure was superb and the kitchenette adequate for self-catering (although we ate out). All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

We recently attended a wedding and required a hotel with plenty of parking, and walking distance to restaurants. Friends had recommended The Ashwood Motel and they were so right. The upstairs room was spotless and also had a wonderful spa bath. The batheroom was still very roomy and the bedroom extremely functional with facilities for cooking if required. The flat screen TV with all the Sky channels was good to catch up on sport. Comfortable bed and pillows too. But this Motel is not all about the rooms, but also the service level at reception and office where the owners [There seemed to be three of them] just couldn't do eough to make our stay amazing. Great recommendation for restaurants and brunch places, we had a delightful meal on The Waipa Riverboat ,food superb and at a reasonable price and great ambiance.Walking distance from the motel. To cap it all off when we were struggiling with my bag there they were to assist as well.This motel is top of the list for me and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank kaorih758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshwoodManor, Front Office Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sei13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshwoodManor, Owner at Ashwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
0.9 mi away
Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Manor

Address: 16 Thackeray Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £45 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashwood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashwood Manor is quality motel accommodation situated in the heart of Hamilton's CBD, only a 5 minute stroll to the main restaurant and entertainment centre. Our central location makes us handy to Waikato and Braemar Hospitals, Hamilton Lake, Waikato Stadium, Founders Theatre, & so much more. We have 27 modern Studio and Studio Spar Suites, 18 of them with in-room self-filling deep water Spa pools. Our rooms are comfortable and private, each with Sky TV, a Flat Screen TV, Free WiFi (conditions apply), Kitchenette & En suite. So, whether you are in town for business or leisure then Ashwood Manor is an ideal home away from home during your stay in Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing