We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty hotel with poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Based on positive reviews, we booked this hotel. We were sorely disappointed upon arrival.

There was no welcome at check in. The lady wasn't too interested in talking to us and just gave us keys and told us about breakfast.

Once we got to the room, there was hair inside our bed. The room was also tired: walls need to be washed and the shower curtain was filthy.

The other minus was the "free internet". You only get 200mb per room which is barely enough for 2 ppl to check their email and the weather.

The good news is that the location is good; next to restaurants in city centre. The breakfast was also good; decent selection for a continental breakfast.

Overall, I would not recommend this place to those that prefer a clean place with good service.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Protraveller1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Protraveller1616

thanks for your review and feedback. As you rightly pointed out previous reviewers have provided excellent feedback on the friendliness of staff and cleanliness of rooms, so I'm very sorry we have let you down on this occasion. Please be assured this is not indicative of our usual standards and I will follow up with Housekeeping staff why these items were overlooked.

With regard to internet access, we now offer 500mb free internet per night.

I'm glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and location.

Kind regards
Chris Parker
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have chosen to stay here twice this month due to the convenient location, easy parking and a safe distance from the less desirable parts of Hamilton city... watch out near Garden Place...the locals that loiter day and night aren't the nicest souls!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Rachael G
thanks for choosing to stay with us when in Hamilton, and for your feedback. I'm pleased you have had a comfortable stay and I appreciate your comments on our convenient location.
Kind regards
Chris Parker
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Good basic motel. Needs a bit of re-decoration but clean and with reasonably sized rooms. Rates include breakfast which is a real bonus as it is a very extensive "continental" breakfast. Stayed here for work (twice) and would definitely stay again. Close to CBD but surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear candi2008
thanks for staying with us again and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to being of service on your next visit to Hamilton.
Kind regards
Chris Parker
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ventura Inn & Suites at the last day of our self-drive in North Island, so we were quite travel weary and feeling a bit homesick. The hotel fulfils all our expectations, from the cheery greeting at check in, convenient and comlimentary car park, lift to the first floor (we had some heavy bags and were thankful that we did not have to lug those up the stairs), clean and spacious room, free wifi, complimentary breakfast, to the speedy and efficient check out. Here's to continued excellence in service from a very satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear travelbugPJ

thank you so much for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that we were able to meet all of your expectations and that you left us as a very satisfied customer.

We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Hamilton in the future.

Kind regards
Chris Parker
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at Ventura ( Feb 2011) for only a night but were very happy with our stay. The rooms are nice and staff very warm. As we had to catch our flight early next morning we had requested them to for an early checkout at around 4 am. Not only did they help us with a hassle free checkout but laid out an entire breakfast spread just for the two of us at 3.30 am! We were pleasantly surprised. The staff members were up and smiling and bid a cheerful goodbye. We left the hotel with a very good feeling and would like to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BShilpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear BShilpa
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us and were very happy with your stay.
Kind regards
Chris Parker
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Nice and clean hotel in a good location. Buffet breakfast is OK. Parking and wi-fi are free. The staff are courteous, helpful. Gave good guidance of restaurants. Many restaurants are very near, open late in night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangassamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Rangassamy L
Thanks for your review and your comments on our cleanliness and location. We are well located near lots of restaurants offering a wide range of different cuisine options.
Kind regards
Chris Parker
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Room is basic and very clean. For the price, it is great value especially given location. Parking and buffet breakfast included in the price. Staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Our only issue was the noise - probably just the side of the hotel were on.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleCurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, General Manager at Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear LittleCurrant
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Hamilton. I'm pleased you found the room to be very clean, staff friendly and your stay good value overall.
Kind regards
Chris Parker
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
970 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
1,194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
0.2 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton

Address: 23 Clarence Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £69 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton is superbly located at the south end of the central business district, only metres from city businesses and the best restaurants, cafes and entertainment. Nearby attractions include the SKYCITY Hamilton Casino, Waikato Museum, Hamilton Gardens and lots of shopping! We are only a short drive from the Claudelands Event Centre and Arena. For your Hamilton accommodation we offer 50 well appointed guest rooms with a choice of either studio rooms, or one-bedroom suites featuring kitchen facilities and separate bedroom. Rooms with king-size beds and spa baths are available. All rates include a complimentary continental buffet breakfast, free wireless internet access, free local telephone calls and free parking. Relax during your stay with a swim in our outdoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout in our fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing