We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a good spring clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Motor Inn
Ranked #53 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs a good spring clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I wish I had read the reviews before doing a last minute booking at Grosvernor.
The good bits. Its close to the supermarket.
The bad bits
The carpets had so many stains I wasnt sure if it was part of the pattern or just ingrained stains (it was the latter)
The bathroom has mold stains on the walls and the bathroom was so damp there was mold on windows/corner of window pain/on the windows/ceiling.
The places needs a darn GOOD clean.
We booked for 3 people and got only 2 towels.
Its the small things that make a stay nice...Enough towels for guest and CLEAN the rooms they are staying in.
We stayed in a floor room which was a mistake as you could hear all the bangs and crashes from the room above.
Headboard on single bed was loose and continuously banged against the wall with every movement so we has to drape the tea towel over to stop this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhiannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    17
    25
    27
    41
See reviews for
45
35
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The list of issues is quite long but you have to start somewhere.
1. Linen on beds did not look fresh. Tell-tale wrinkles on the sheets.
2.3 guests booked - 2 towels supplied.
3. Sliding door to bathroom - jammed regularly - could trap you if you were on your own
4. Wallpaper peeling, Rooms very tired
5.Arrived about 10pm and greeted by Lodge staff in pyjamas. lol
6 Room needed a good clean, bathroom especially.
7 Don't pay extra for spa-bath, very dated and needs disinfecting
8 No extra pillows
9 Power points for electric blankets in weird places
1 good thing - TV has a USB port

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harikoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Snells Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

2 nights at the Grosvenor while at an Expo in Hamilton.
- Location was good and central.
- The shower pressure was AMAZING and the spa bath was lovely.
- The pool wasn't hot enough to entice me in during winter.
- The front desk was helpful but very flustered and busy.
- Breakfast in the restaurant was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I booked 4 Nights stay at the Grosvenor recently to attend my sons National Swimming Meet, that occupied my time mornings and evenings each day. This Motor Inn is perfect for this type of required accommodation, the staff were friendly, service housekeeping timely and efficient, and due to maintenance of signage improvements, I would have expected disruption and a lessening of parking facilities, however their were none with two Coach Buses and all patrons able to park within easy walking distance to rooms which were pleasantly spacious and in keeping with the Tudor ambience overall presentation. The pool had a tropical feel with a well balanced indoor and open outdoor setting to relax in after daily activities, I highly recommend a short or longer term stay at The Grosvenor as a great base to check out the awesome sights and sounds of Hamilton NZ

Room Tip: Ask for an extra bed if required when booking to ensure a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stay was adequate at best, the room was dated and boring. The service at the front desk was borderline rude. Neither friendly nor polite, I think a smile might have cracked manageress face. The pool had seen better days. It was however clean and the shower had amazing water pressure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angi_cGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

After being offered a single room with share facilities for $80 a night 15 mins up the road at a pub in Huntly, I found this much better offer for the same price ... a really spacious room, with double bed, new large flat screen TV with USB port so I could watch my own stuff (Andromeda, for the record), one of the best showers ever, good Wi-Fi ($5 for 24 hours), work desk, and across the road from a supermarket. No microwave, but when I came back with a nuke and eat TV dinner, the receptionist was happy to do that for me in her room. For those who expect five star accommodation for $80, you'll probably whine about the few scratches on the bedside table. For those who don't have their heads up their ***** this is one of the best little motels I've stayed at. And Tudor design too! Nice. And did I mention great staff?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarolynTimarkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Got a deal where I paid $70 & it was overall a good stay. Staff were great, room was clean, in room spa. Good example of a good old kiwi motor inn. Could do with a spruce up as everything was dated but it was clean :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Abbots Hamilton Hotel and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mill Lodge
Mill Lodge
#42 of 62 in Hamilton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Motor Inn

Property: Grosvenor Motor Inn
Address: 165 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Motor Hotel Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing