We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake point Hamilton..truly awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Point Motel
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lake point Hamilton..truly awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Having read reviews giving it 4.5 rating this motel was chosen..what a mistake! Where do I start? Not very clean, bed soft, no wardrobe ..jest a cheap hanging rail.Ants to keep you company in the bathroom and bedroom kitchen ..it says spa bath.. I really wouldn't get in it.the kitchen area had no cupboards just an open shel.. Don't bother here either!, wasn't asked how the stay was.. No wonder. Give this a miss, never stayed anywhere quite so poor, this is not for a traveller.

Room Tip: Don't even consider booking one .. The Novahotel would be the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robjjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
23
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have stayed here a number of times and like to come back. We find the location quiet but close to town.
Clean, comfortable bed and friendly hosts, we always enjoy the big bath too.
No doubt we will be back again Thanks .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in the one bedroomed apartment in the older part of the motel. Whilst the accommodation was clean and modern, the room was hot and stuffy and traffic noise was so bad it was impossible to leave the windows open. It was like living under a bridge and we would not have stayed there had I know the unit was near a busy road - the motel was listed as "quiet". We didnt get back to our unit until 2 pm and had thought it would be serviced by then. However, there was no room service on the second day and when I went to request clean towels from reception no one answered the buzzer in the office and I eventually got the towels myself out of the laundry bag. I would not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you pay the extra and stay in the newer part of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in two rooms accomodating four and five in each room and found the stay to be very pleasant. The lady at reception was very helpful. She gave us a number to call for the free shuttle to skycity which brought us there within five minutes of calling and back as well .
The units have a parking lot in front each which make unloading and loading very convenient. Rooms were roomy and clean. Beds were adequately comfortable. (We had two king beds and a single in the room for five).Only grouse - only one pillow each and they were quite flat. Kitchenette has no stove. There was a portable hot pot, electric hot pan , toaster , microwave, refrigerator. There was a fan and an electric heater as well and all beds have electric blankets .As the weather was just nice , we did not use any of these. Bathroom was roomy and very clean . Water pressure was good and there was plenty of piping hot water. Toiletries were adequate. A hair dryer is supplied .
Altogether a very pleasant stay- will stay here again. Value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jolinpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Thanks for accommodating us during our weekend in Hamilton. We found our rooms to be lovely and clean and the beds are so comfortable. The rooms have everything you would need for a great stay. The motel is within walking distance to the town centre and the Hamilton nightlife. The hosts are friendly and helpful and they go out of their way to help you out. Thanks Paul and Susan for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel in order to be near a football tournament. Both families found the cost and cleanliness and space of the hotel to be of a high standard. Our hosts were very informative and gave us great local information. Bathrooms were fairly modern. Ground floor rooms though did not have an outstanding view of the area, but did not impact our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Hill VIC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We chanced on Lake Point by heading up the hill in Hamilton. Just over road from old water tower and the Lake and parklands, it is spotlessly clean. Room 8 is the pick - we were offered it, arriving midday, good idea if not booking ahead. Huge, north-facing picture window, so quiet. Kitchenette has frypan, dual hot plate, microwave, but hardly any kitchen tools. . . .
10 min walk down hill to City centre, 2 supermarkets, restaurants. Stacks to do in Hamilton. Short drive to Cambridge (old English), Waikato River trails,Waitomo Caves and more. Hamilton Gardens are magnificent.
We are on a week visit from Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.3 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Point Motel

Property: Lake Point Motel
Address: 42 Thackeray Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Point Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing