We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Atrium on Ulster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atrium on Ulster
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Great place. Clean tidy and comfortable. Room had a well appointed with a small kitchenette We stayed in the room with the cedar hot tub. Was no better way of relaxing each evening the slipping Into the hot tub. Highly recommended and Steve was so friendly!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    76
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
88
97
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
172 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a well appointed unit and properly cared for----but for two adult couples we felt it's design was poor. It would have worked if we just came in and went directly to bed but there is one little sofa for two and the dining table. There was a electric fan but it really couldn't cool two bedrooms. There isn't a laundry except if you wish to leave it for them to do at $10.00 a load. Does this make for the end of the world? Surely not but we have been spoiled by the many lovely units that have worked better for us. The hostess was great---the unit immaculate.

Room Tip: We were in the back and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment with hot tub... fabulous! Hostess was very friendly.
Room was impeccably presented. Everything was immaculate - shiny benchtop, sink, cutlery, glasses. Absolutely spotless - rooms and outdoors. Even the tarmac / driveway / outdoor areas were spotless! The fittings are all modern, and it even included a mini stereo system. The complimentary toiletries - scent was beautiful. One of the nicest I have come across. Centrally located, 10 minute walk to start of main CBD street or cheap taxi ride right into CBD.
Looking forward to my next stay. Would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: Room 6 - the hot tub is just to die for! Is on a timer - 7.00am to 10.00pm....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stay at this Motel, each time I travel to Hamilton for business.
The Owners and Staff are fantastic, helpful, and with a good sense of humour - they always make me feel welcome.
Rooms are modern, clean and well presented, with free WiFi if you need it.
Breakfast is delivered on time, as ordered, and most importantly - hot.
I would recommend this Motel to anyone wanting a pleasant stay in Hamilton.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Good things: The room was clean and felt very new, the bed was huge and comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless. The man working at the reception (owner?) was very friendly and had a good sense of humour. The wi-fi worked.

Bad things: It was hot and noisy. There was no air conditioning (that we could find), and when we opened the windows for ventilation, the traffic noise became very intrusive. Even with the windows closed, the whooshing of vehicles on Ulster St outside was rather pronounced. I don't usually pay attention to things like road noise, but this was next level - it was actually difficult to ignore. I think the arrangement of the motel's units (like a long, tall, narrow alleyway coming perpendicularly off Ulster St) may work a bit like an echo chamber, amplifying the road noise. Alternatively, the noise was just because we were staying in the unit closest to the road. Whatever it may be, this was the only place out of all the accommodations we stayed at over our month-long trip around NZ in which road noise was an issue; it usually doesn't even register in my mind.

I liked this place so feel bad about having to subtract a star. They obviously try very hard to make their establishment an upstanding and desirable one, and I appreciate that effort and hope that they continue to do well. The noisy road is something that they have little control over; sadly it does detract from one's enjoyment of the stay, and might mean suboptimal sleep quality for some.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the road as possible, and hope it makes a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

What a great place! Only stayed 1 night wish it was longer. Felt very welcome, nothing was too difficult. Had a 1 bedroom unit with outdoor spa. What a treat! Everything was clean and modern. Ordered breakfast and they certainly look after you in this department. Lovely fresh and hot on arrival. Great value couldn't quiet eat it all. Free WiFi was a nice touch. Good location, who wants to be right in the CBD. Be away from the noise yet only. $8-$10 taxi ride which was ordered for us. There is the Ale house just a 10 minute walk and have heard its good. Definitely worth a stay!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Manager at Atrium on Ulster, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your stay. It is fantastic to hear you had a great stay & enjoyed the hot tub, it really is a great way to soak away any aches!
We hope to see you next time you are in Hamilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Fresh, clean and new. The rooms are modern with everything you need whilst being value for money. Very close to all the centre of Hamilton. The management are very friendly and helpful and like to make sure your stay is an enjoyable one!! I definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting Hamilton

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Manager at Atrium on Ulster, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for leaving a review on your stay. It's great to hear you found the room modern & clean as we take a lot of pride in the upkeep of the property & ensuring everyone has a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.3 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium on Ulster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium on Ulster

Property: Atrium on Ulster
Address: 281-285 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3420, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atrium on Ulster 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Atrium On Ulster, One of Hamilton's newest motel accommodation and conference complexes. We are Qualmark rated 4 star plus and provide guests with clean, modern rooms with comfortable beds and great showers. Free WiFi (conditions apply). We are centrally located on Ulster Street, close to Supermarkets, restaurants and Waikato Stadium. Come and stay and experience the excellent service that we pride ourselves on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atrium on Ulster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing