We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Auto Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auto Lodge Motel
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
KL
Level Contributor
187 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The LCD TV is the biggest I had in motels in NZ. The room was basic but everything worked. If your room is nearer to the road, traffic noise is a problem, so try getting a room further away. This is the first motel along the road as you drive into town, so you may want to compare the other motels on both sides of the some road before choosing where to stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main road/entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
21
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Hmmmm. I stayed at this property on a 'walk-in' basis during a recent driving trip in NZ. The Auto Lodge Hamilton is located on a strip with numerous motels - so I guess competition is pretty strong. I was travelling by myself, so only wanted a single room. The lady on the front desk only wanted to sell me a suite (mini-apartment) that was far larger than I needed. The price quoted was about NZ$125. I said thanks, but other properties were offering rooms that met my needs for under $100. After a long and somewhat 'pythonesque' discussion with this lady who was doing her best to tell me why I needed to take the suite (...comfortable, nice bed etc, etc), I managed to get the room for $89! Despite her claims to the contrary, I doubt that they were 'full' that night and there were plenty of alternatives.

The room itself was fine. The Auto Lodge is an older property, but was in good condition. The bed was comfortable, there was a kitchen (if I had needed it) and the wireless Internet worked well. This is a suitable establishment for an overnight stay. Just be prepared for some entertaining haggling over the price you pay.

Room Tip: Central Hamilton has lots of nice places for a meal and a drink. The 'Londoner' (British Pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprintlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Auto Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thanks for your review, as we welcome all reviews to encourage development and improvement to better customer service and quality accomodation that is clean, pleasant and welcoming to stay at. At Auto Lodge Motel, we have intiated a new management system to aim at customer satisfaction one step at a time. Keeping prices low and providing a service more then the moneys worth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

These people are difficult to deal with. Trying to get thru to people with very little english is bad enough, but the man that I tried to cancel our room with had no grasp of what I was saying and did not cancel a room which ended up costing me $220.00. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Was met by a lovely receptionist and after asking the price of a room booked in as was a drive in. Did not think the $90.00 charge for the room was worth what was there. The room was dated and old fashioned & it was quite hard to flush the toilet. The free internet did not work and had someone put a cable through a window to try and get this working but to no avail.

Room Tip: not sure that there are any rooms you could choose as the road noise was very obvious as no double g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Auto Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
We thank you very much for your review. We are currently refurblishing all our units to bring them up to standard as of early 2013. Being aware our building is one of the older buildings on the Hamilton motel Highway, we are in the process of constructing a better service of accomodation for our future guests. We hope the next time you visit, we exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a visit to Hamilton. Room was clean and tidy but very pokey, bathroom dated, best thing was the size of the tv. Relatively quiet at night . Walls and ceiling not very sound proof as we could hear the people upstairs going to the toilet first thing in the morning, not that great!! Was good though to have proper milk not stuff in little plastic pottles.One bonus is the free internet in room.Room was a wotif special, so not sure if we were given a bad room because of this or if it was a standard room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Auto Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you very much for your reviews. We take all aspects into consideration and over look all pros and cons for developement. So thank your for your reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I got a Wotif 'flaming special' price of $79 for a studio suite [for one person in my case but price catered for 2] so my review is colored by that fact. I may have been a little surprised at the older but adequate bathroom/kitchenette areas if I had paid the usual $115. But the other great services and facilities were a welcome bonus.

As it was I loved my stay overnight and would definitely stay there again.

Pluses for me were: A lovely helpful receptionist; fabulous practical cp help for me to activate my wi-fi which was free and meant a saving for me of around $10-15 per stay; a spotless and well maintained motel unit with the best bed I have come across and superb pillows [real pillows and not all 'fluff and show']; a small refrigerator and toaster to save money on simple food prep. [there is a bulk/cheap supermarket just around the corner]; REAL milk.... not tiny plastic containers [thanks Auto Lodge!] of long life tasteless 'nothingness'; Flat screen TV and free Sky TV...a real bonus as NZ TV is not good usually, Microwave and sink etc...even the 'smoking / cig ash' containers outside were well placed; easy free parking.

A couple of practical suggestions for the motel owners could include adding a gazebo with roof over the outdoor circular table / seating area....also a BBQ. It would create atmosphere and also provide a clean form of outdoor cooking...that saves a solo or family from having to leave the motel.

The motel is lit with blue feature lighting at night....it would have been handy to have the actual motel name sign also lit up to find my way home more easily. It would also look more inviting.

Also...I almost did not book since I did not like the motel name...OK a petty issue but it sounded pretty boring etc...I DID book since the price was good...but maybe a change of name could be considered? Auto Lodge means little or nothing to me...and sounds cold and 'robotic' if anything. It is not a 'friendly' name...and lets its owners down, as they are lovely!

If you can get the same low price as I got I am sure that this motel would be great for 'no nonsense' business, solo and practical people. I would definitely stay there again as the place ticks all the boxes for me. In that sense it is beyond great value for money. It is way ahead in its price range...but that is easy for me to say now...having got a good price in my view. I would have thought it comfortable, with lots of free extras...yet a bit shoddy at $115...but then I am a traveler who has a mental cut off at $100 pn...no matter what it is lol!

Room Tip: Try to get a downstairs room unless you have strong people to carry luggage up...open-air stair acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

clean room with big tv screen but without kitchen and with not too nice bathroom.Staff friendly

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#30 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hygate Motor Lodge
Hygate Motor Lodge
#17 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BK's Settlers Motor Lodge
BK's Settlers Motor Lodge
#14 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ulster Lodge Motel
Ulster Lodge Motel
#28 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hamilton
Bella Vista Motel Hamilton
#19 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auto Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auto Lodge Motel

Property: Auto Lodge Motel
Address: 298 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auto Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auto Lodge Motel is a local family run business. Always innovating to improve and provide Hamiltons Best Motel Accommodation. We have a total of 14 guest units and located central to Hamilton on Ulster Street. We aim to provide quality and consist hospitality services to the Waikato region for guests travelling whether for business or leisure. This year has been a great year for us as we have kick started our latest project to completely renovate and refurblish all our guests units. Completion is expected in May 2016 and we hope our future guests will enjoy our new rooms. So come and inspect Hamiltons latest motel suites right here at the Auto Lodge Motel, Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auto Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing