We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fountain City Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We are a family of 4 and this is the second time we have stayed here. Amy the duty manager is very nice and goes out of her way to be helpful with good suggestions where to eat and made sure the sofa bed was ready for the kids as we were arriving late. The rooms have been clean and it is nice to have a big bench in the bathroom and a shower with good pressure. Please be aware that this Motor Inn desperately needs updating but the price, cleanliness and service make up for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    36
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
44
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We only stayed for 1 night at this hotel in mid-March. It is located on a main road through town - on the way out heading towards Auckland - but we never heard any traffic noise. We had ground floor room 7 with a massive comfortable king size bed. The room was a little dated though clean. When we first walked in, I was surprised we had a large sofa in the room. I thought it was going to be nice to sit & watch TV on a sofa, but I was mistaken. It was however so uncomfortable after just a small time - I can only assume it was an old style sofa bed. I understand most people wont be concerned about the hair dryer in the bathroom, but this one is probably the worst I've ever encountered. I don't mind that it's old - it just needs to blow some air out to dry my hair! Our room looked out to a park area while rooms on the other side looked out to the car park. The room also had air-conditioning which was wonderful on the hot day/night. Free wi-fi was included in the price and we had no trouble connecting. The staff at reception were friendly and we had no complaints with their service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank no_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I had room 5, was handy to the carpark, pool, laundry & the furtherest of the ground floor rooms from the main road. It's an ideal location for a business stop over as it's handy to all parts of Hamilton.

The room was very clean & the bed comfortable. I didn't take a look at the pool, but the thought of being able to take a dip was enticing, especially with the humid weather. If the kids had been with me they'd of been straight in after a long drive.

Definitely value for money, hassle free & you don't often get shower pressure so great that you almost can't bear, almost a massage from the jets!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad_plus_2_Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

good motel for families with heaps of stuff to keep kids entertained. Only downside was the dust which you could see exploding off the sofa every time you sit on it. Not recommended for anyone with dust allergies.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paiaka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

By husband and I stayed with extended family and our 15month old infant mid December 2013 in the Inter-connecting rooms..Rooms were very clean and beds super comfy. Large wall mount TV's were great as you can watch them from Bed. Plus table and chairs so your not just stuck with sitting on the bed. House-keeping staff extremely friendly and helpful. Balcony's over look a large grassed open space with the Golf driving range in view. Not much traffic noise and we were only 3rd room back from street. Balcony nice but would have been nice to have a chair out there to enjoy the view. Pool area needs updating as it appears dated now. Hallways are a little dark at night, but not an issue at all really. Will stay again if in Hamilton. Only downside is no spa or bath in either room. Not bad at all for an overnight stay or two. BALCONY not exactly safe for a child as they can easily fall through the large gap at the bottom, belongings can easily fall too so just keep aware of this.

Room Tip: Interconnecting room great for large families - pity no bath in either rooms though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed as a family of four on Xmas Eve, and booked adjoining rooms, which was great. Only $180 for the lot, which we thought was great value. The place is a little dated, but still very comfortable, roomy and clean, no issues there at all. Excellent central location, and nice to have a view from our rooms to the reserve and golf course next door. Very comfy beds too. Nice touch was the bottle of red wine and Xmas card that were left for us by the motel - thank you! Staff very friendly :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The staff was extremely accommodating, going out of their way to let us get our laundry done outside of the posted hours. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, ours had large windows overlooking a park, very serene, quiet. Room and parking felt very secure.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms in the hall away from the parking lot overlook a nice, quiet park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucksterooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#29 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain City Motor Inn

Property: Fountain City Motor Inn
Address: 305 Ulster Street, Hamilton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain City Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountain City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing