We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Narrows Landing
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
sydney
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Borring”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This place, although beautifully decorated and presented was the most atmosphericly depleted place I have ever stayed. There was NOTHING to do. Also the restaurant food was yesterday's leftovers. I ordered duck, and it was tough sinewy pork, and VERY expensive. Also the so called free wifi didn't work,

Room Tip: Unless you have an early morning flight from Hamiltion...stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Firstly staff are trying. This is not a boutique hotel by any stretch.
It's tired old run down and poor quality on almost all things.
One cannot advertise boutique luxury and charge the prices and not expect poor reviews.
If the web site was honest. - it's 2-3 star at best.
The rooms and decor are tired, in bad need of updating, a proper mini bar in room, bathroom amenities are a best western standard which is ok if they state that.
The web site and the hotel are incongruent with the expectation.

Location stunning, beautiful NZ bush but overall it has a deserted feel and because the expecting are not met no one will come back.

Whoever owns or runs it needs to take a good critical look at the rooms linen bed quality etc etc

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MushuAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I stayed one night.

It is an interesting looking place in a fantastic setting. A quirky building. Finding the entrance to check in is difficult as you have to go through heavy thick drapes. Reception was not manned but when they arrived they quickly found our room. The staff were quite friendly.

There are many stairs to the rooms which are all upstairs. The hallways have sensor lighting which means you need to walk half way down the hallway in complete darkness before the lights come on. The same applies when you leave your room to go downstairs again. The room appeared clean and tidy when we arrived however cold and needed air conditioner to be turned on. It took me a while to find out how to turn the air conditioner on, and in that time I cleaned the filter on the air conditioner as it was filthy. Once the air conditioner was working the room became nice and cosy.

The bedside lights needed plugging in and lighting in general was very poor. Not even good lighting over the mirror to help apply makeup.

You can hear the people next door in their room. You could not understand what they are saying thankfully.

The food was sublime. Tender and interesting with a reasonable range and good use of accompanying vegetables.

My recommendation would be to go and have a meal and stay somewhere else.

It was freezing cold, dark with sub standard lighting, many stairs in odd places but with fantastic food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenjen180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Beautiful setting and some interesting/attractive aspects inside and out that could accommodate a range of group sizes/needs/functions but the accommodation basics are lacking :( Sleeping/living and bathroom are a good size but for $295 a night, we had some reasonable expectations like: a toilet/bathroom door! But no, a saloon door, not all the way to the ceiling or all the way down to the floor - just the bit in the middle without a lock! So forget about a romantic weekend where your private 'needs' are kept private. 'Everything' will be shared with your partner or roommate. At least we had the saloon door I guess...our friends had no door at all on their bathroom! Disgusting! No mini bar in the room; cheap old plastic bin without a lid, just a plastic bag; no towel rail, just a ladder that falls over; ramp to the bathroom which you can easily twist your ankle on as you step back into the lounge; no Sky; expect to pay $5.50 per cup of tea in the restaurant and $25 each for a cooked breakfast only that is average in size and quality; shared balcony so anyone can peer into your room including watching you on the toilet/in the bathroom!; internal, perforated metal bridges connect accommodation areas so noisy re: walking and roller suitcases; the front entrance/reception wasn't clear i.e. covered with a curtain and then reception was quite a way in. Also, the toilets re: Our evening group function were not kept up to scratch; we had to get to the function by going down two levels of stairs, through the working area of a kitchen - not very appealing/practical particularly for women in heels! The minimal number of staff members were very obliging but we wouldn't go back to stay.

Room Tip: Check if the bathroom has a full door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My brother wrote about our weekend away with our 88 year old mum and i would just like to reiterate how great the Narrows Landing worked for us as a family. We had a couple of flights of stairs to get up to the 3 bedroomed apartment. This was a bit difficult as there was no lift we had to carry our mum up the stairs. We had prior warning of this however and made the decision to stay there anyway as the location and the 3 bedroom apartment all with en suites worked for us.
What a great venue. Both the accomodation and dining was superb. But for me the very friendly helpful staff (nothing was too much trouble) was second to none. They were great.

Room Tip: Find out where the room is located. If stairs dont bother you - great because the rooms i saw were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 712Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our family had a weekend away with our elderly mother. The accommodation was great and the garden setting magnificent. Unfortunately there was no lift which made it a bit difficult to get our mother upstairs and downstairs.
The main drawbacks were the dark entrance, inadequate lighting in places and no fly spray to defend against the odd mosquito.
The people at The Narrows Landing were superb. They could not have done more for us. There were 7 of us and the apartment that accommodated 5 people had been set up for a fantastic meal to save us from having to take our mother downstairs to the dining room. Also the continental breakfast was arranged in the apartment.
Lunch for 14 people the next day saw lovely meals again. So much so that one of our wider family guests is likely to have his 90th birthday luncheon at this venue.
Nothing was a problem or too difficult for the Narrows Landing staff. Their professional, friendly and helpful attitude ensured that this special weekend was enjoyable and memorable for our mother and her family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Advertised as LUXURY at $245/nt. Stayed 2 nights. NO room service. Shower curtain, nowhere to put soap.No towel racks. Ordered entrees for lunch and after 35 mins complained. It appeared after 3 minutes. Breakfast buffet wasn't available until 9am but we were expected to be out by 10am. Look out from room was over a roof which was dirty and covered in leaves. Not acceptable when paying these prices. On arrival we had to wait between 5 to 10 mins before anyone came to reception. Only kitchen staff on hand to come to counter. The room was old and dark and when the guests walked around above us we could hear each step on the ceiling. The only good thing about this place is it is air-conditioned. Other guests were also complaining of similar issues. 2 rooms apparently had lots of mosquitoes to make it more uncomfortable. After 3 weeks traveling in NZ this was by far the most expensive and worst rooms and service. Please don't waste your money going here as there are many beautiful places in NZ to stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 6 or 7. Some of the others have been upgraded but the service is terrible so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sybik538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
5.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,132 reviews
7.1 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
5.5 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Blackwood House
Blackwood House
#2 of 24 in Hamilton
78 reviews
4.6 mi away
BKs Hamilton
BKs Hamilton
#15 of 63 in Hamilton
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Narrows Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Narrows Landing

Property: The Narrows Landing
Address: 431 Airport Road, Hamilton 3282, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Narrows Landing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run business offering function and conference rooms, a cafe that is open Wednesday - Sunday, and boutique B & B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Narrows Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing