We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Narrows Landing
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Business meeting nearby so good location, although if you wan tot go into Hamilton, you will need a car. Rooms good, Breakfast expensive, and having to a check out time of 10am on a Saturday is not very appealing, felt rushed by the staff to leave. Not sure if I would stay there again. maybe me being the only guest, is a good indicator?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisflyer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Narrows set in lovely bush surroundings!!Shame about everything else.No fridge in the room,jug cord could hardly fit into socket,music from the bar could be heard in our room(as well as everything else)people above us had the telly going until 1:15 am then some-one came home at 5am and talked until 7am.If I hadn't pre-paid for the room we would have left.Great balcony with highway traffic rumbling past day and night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Not sure where to start here...........the first indication I had that all was not going to work was after making the reservations I received a call 2 days later telling me that none of the TVs we're working. This was fine as we weren't there to watch TV all night.

On arrival my mother in law was turned away with sorry we have no booking for you, had they spelt the name right it wouldn't had been a problem, also it wasn't as if they were full either.

On arrival my first I impressions where what a great property this MUST have been, it looked very tired and un kept from the outside.

We sorted out the bookings and went to our rooms, no help offered we were just pointed up the stairs.

The rooms are very tired and dated, amenities are very lacking, light bulbs not working and considering no tv, the little radio clock wasn't even plugged in. There was once a mini bar fridge, this has now been replaced by a sign saying you can get milk from the communal fridge in the hallway.

By no means were the rooms up to any standard past 1 star!

Anyway we went out and returned back to the hotel about 10ish and went back to our rooms. We were woken up at about 2am by a couple in one room having a really loud argument, this went on and on, no answer on ringing reception and we we knocked on there door no answer, thus a bad nights sleep.

We couldn't wait to check out and leave in the morning, only problem was there were no staff on until 8 so we had to wait to check out!

The 2 different staff that we dealt with we're lovely, however whoevere owns this place needs to get their act together and sort it out.

We'll over priced and over stated on the website.

Please this could be so good!

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Where to start! This hotel was a let down on every level, from the room decor to the fact you had to boil the jug in the bathroom (which didn't even have a proper door) to the fact that our 'king size' bed was actually two king singles pushed together disguised in King sized linen. When you look for a 'boutique hotel' as accomodation you expect a certain level of luxury which this place is badly lacking. The staff were unhelpful and we found them very unfriendly, and also tried to charge us for our over-priced room twice! The room was cold and didn't even have a decent duvet, when we tried to work the heat pump it took us about 20mins to realise that it was unplugged and had to climb behind the bed to plug it in. All in all would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollykinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This place, although beautifully decorated and presented was the most atmosphericly depleted place I have ever stayed. There was NOTHING to do. Also the restaurant food was yesterday's leftovers. I ordered duck, and it was tough sinewy pork, and VERY expensive. Also the so called free wifi didn't work,

Room Tip: Unless you have an early morning flight from Hamiltion...stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Firstly staff are trying. This is not a boutique hotel by any stretch.
It's tired old run down and poor quality on almost all things.
One cannot advertise boutique luxury and charge the prices and not expect poor reviews.
If the web site was honest. - it's 2-3 star at best.
The rooms and decor are tired, in bad need of updating, a proper mini bar in room, bathroom amenities are a best western standard which is ok if they state that.
The web site and the hotel are incongruent with the expectation.

Location stunning, beautiful NZ bush but overall it has a deserted feel and because the expecting are not met no one will come back.

Whoever owns or runs it needs to take a good critical look at the rooms linen bed quality etc etc

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MushuAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I stayed one night.

It is an interesting looking place in a fantastic setting. A quirky building. Finding the entrance to check in is difficult as you have to go through heavy thick drapes. Reception was not manned but when they arrived they quickly found our room. The staff were quite friendly.

There are many stairs to the rooms which are all upstairs. The hallways have sensor lighting which means you need to walk half way down the hallway in complete darkness before the lights come on. The same applies when you leave your room to go downstairs again. The room appeared clean and tidy when we arrived however cold and needed air conditioner to be turned on. It took me a while to find out how to turn the air conditioner on, and in that time I cleaned the filter on the air conditioner as it was filthy. Once the air conditioner was working the room became nice and cosy.

The bedside lights needed plugging in and lighting in general was very poor. Not even good lighting over the mirror to help apply makeup.

You can hear the people next door in their room. You could not understand what they are saying thankfully.

The food was sublime. Tender and interesting with a reasonable range and good use of accompanying vegetables.

My recommendation would be to go and have a meal and stay somewhere else.

It was freezing cold, dark with sub standard lighting, many stairs in odd places but with fantastic food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenjen180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
7.1 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
6.0 mi away
Boundary Court Motor Inn
Boundary Court Motor Inn
#23 of 63 in Hamilton
82 reviews
6.2 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hamilton Airport Hotel And Conference Centre
4.4 mi away
Argent Motor Lodge
Argent Motor Lodge
#1 of 63 in Hamilton
709 reviews
4.6 mi away
BKs Hamilton
BKs Hamilton
#14 of 63 in Hamilton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Narrows Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Narrows Landing

Property: The Narrows Landing
Address: 431 Airport Road, Hamilton 3282, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Narrows Landing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run business offering function and conference rooms, a cafe that is open Wednesday - Sunday, and boutique B & B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Narrows Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing