We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Hamilton NZ”
Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great choice in Hamilton NZ”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights visiting friends & exploring the area. This place was great! Clean, comfortable and good location. The staff was very friendly & helpful. Spacious room with fridge, sink, microwave & very comfortable bed. Clare & her staff care about making your stay a good one! We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auntie-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello Auntie- Boston! It is so great to know that you have arrived home safe and sound. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review - you have made our day. It was such a pleasure to have you with us. Argent Motor Lodge is so well appointed with our guest apartments designed to make sure that you have all of the comforts guests deserve. From sound proof construction and amazing beds we really do take pride in what we offer. Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Hamilton. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    67
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
180
250
55
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Needed to overnight in the Raglan area. This place was remarkable. Modern, clean, well-appointed, well-thought out. Amazing hospitality, courtesy and charm by the owner/manager Clare. Would stay here any chance we got. A rare find anywhere.

Room Tip: We were travelling as 5 people and they have a corner "apartment" that combines a suite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Manager at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hey NZJeff - THANK YOU! your review of your stay with us is just wondering and we thank you for taking the time to share with the Tripadvisor community. We had a great time hosting you and we are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Two Bedroom Apartments have proven exceptionally popular over the past few months as they allow for comfort and space for everyone. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms (one with a huge double ended bath), lounge, full kitchen and smaller kitchenette, three tv's and a private lobby! For two of these, there is even an outdoor courtyard. Thanks again NZJeff, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon and we were not disappointed at all! Claire was so sweet and gave us a box of chocolates right on the first day to celebrate our honeymoon for us. She has been a gem throughout our stay and would go out of her way to help us and make our stay comfortable.

The rooms are spacious, well equipped and extremely well kept. We came back to a made up room every day and would take a nice hot bath before collapsing on the so very comfortable bed. It's been a wonderful 3 days stay and would definitely come back here again next time we visit Hamilton.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi Melissa - thank you for your incredible review of your stay with us. We felt so lucky that you chose us for part of your Honeymoon and it was our pleasure to look after you. We wish you both a wonderful and happy life, filled with laughter, love and fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I loved the Argent Motor Lodge in New Zealand. It was the best hotel we stayed in throughout New Zealand. We liked the large, spacious room with a modern bathroom. The room was very clean. The hosts provided us a Christmas chocolate gift as we arrived on Christmas day.

The only minor issue was that the internet code provided did not work at first, but the staff answered our call at 6am to fix the problem.

Thanks again!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank worldy_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you Worldly_Couple for choosing us for your Christmas stay here in New Zealand. Your review has made our day, knowing that you thought so highly of us even though the internet decided not to work for you! I was so pleased to discover that this was all that was wrong when you phoned and was more than happy to be able to get you back up and running so you could say 'Merry Christmas' to your Family back home! Take care - thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Argent during my visit to New Zealand and have to say it is the best motel I have ever stayed in.

The rooms are well set out modern, spacious and the beds are oh so comfortable, just what you want after a long day out sightseeing. The hosts were the friendliest and most helpful I have come across and bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed.

I highly recommend this motel to anyone looking to stay in Hamilton, you won't do better.

Chris Plummer

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisplummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Manager at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi Chris - it was such a pleasure to have you all with us and to have you put up such a great review of your stay with us has made our day! We know that New Zealand is such a long way for so many and as part of the Tourism industry we appreciate it greatly when people come to travel our amazing country. This is why we work so hard to ensure that our guests are looked after, feel cared about and have all that they need. Thank you to you and your family for choosing us Chris. We hope that one day, we will see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Argent Motor Lodge has brand new rooms with are spacious with all the required facilities (TV, aircon, kitchenette, etc). The staff and owners were extremely friendly and helpful and made our one night stay extremely pleasant.
I will be recommending this Motor Lodge to family and friends and will stay again if ever back in Hamilton.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjh086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The owners were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was large and spotlessly clean. The facilities were great - everything you needed was there right down to plunger coffee. The bed was comfortable the bathroom was really clean and had all the nice little touches with complimentary toiletries. Loved our stay there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,141 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 63 in Hamilton
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.0 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Property: Argent Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award recipients for four consecutive years - 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Westpac Waikato Business Excellence Award WINNER 2014. AA Traveller Supreme Host of the Year award WINNERS 2014. Designed with you, the guest in mind! Argent Motor Lodge is one of Hamilton's newest motels. We border the Waikato Hospital campus and are only a short 350m walk to Braemar Hospital. On the Southside of the City Centre we make it easy for you to head North, South, East or West. Beautifully appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchens, 32" and 40" wall mounted televisions, full hush glass for super quiet rooms and plush beds for your complete comfort. Some of our apartments have their own courtyard and all of our one and two Bedroom apartments have a full size, double ended bath. With guest services such as in-room breakfasts, guest laundry, restaurant charge backs, guest computer you will be pleased you decided to stay at Argent Motor Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing