We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay”
Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The only place to stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If your travels take you to this section of New Zealand (Hobbiton, Raglan, etc.), this is the ONLY place to stay. Wonderful accommodations, clean, modern, great beds and great showers.
The owners are delightful people.
If you are an experienced traveler and avoid "fancy" as we do, this place is an oasis for great value and swell people.
We were 3 adults and 2 young children and had a 2 bedroom suite. It was perfect. And the small extra charge for breakfast in your room in the morning is well worth it. By the way, all 3 adults would give it the same review.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    67
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
172
246
53
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 1 night and I stayed another 3 nights while my wife was in the Braemar Hospital. Nothing was to much trouble for Clare and Richard. My wife made the booking by phone and she found this an easy exercise. We were greeted by Richard and showed to our room. Before leaving Richard told us if we needed anything just give him a call. The room was absolutely lovely, spotless and had everything we needed. It was a five minute walk to the Braemar Hospital and not much more to Waikato Hospital. Even though it is close to the road, the road noise was not a problem, due to the double glazing. My room was service everyday and the service staff were very professional. When I left Richard and Clare were not there, but I was checked out in the same manner that my wife and I were checked in, by a lovely lady called Sharon. If you are in Hamilton and like to be treated like you are very important, stay at the Argent Motor Lodge with Clare and Richard we will be.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fungrandmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Got in because of a booking cancellation and so glad I was sad that they were booked up but lucky I got the room. I went there for my honeymoon night and they but led candels and rose petals and chocolates for us they also rememberd that I don't drink and on arrival for the second time being there they gave us a bottle of grape juice. Always enjoy staying there!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent 3 weeks touring both the north & south islands of NZ during February. Without a doubt this was the best place we stayed in and great value for money. Clare is a real people person & ensures your stay is great. Would highly recommend this place. Gary & Elaine Canada

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aug50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This place is a gem. We received lots of great suggestions of where to dine, visit the next day, etc. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nice sized and super clean as well. Hamilton is a perfect location on the way to or from Auckland and the city has lots of fun nightlife and restaurants. We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and it was a fantastic room. I think any room at this motor lodge would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

So friendly and personable, Clare and Richard are outstanding hosts and take great pride in their facility. Our family stayed for one night and loved the room and well equipped kitchen. The beds were great and if viewing the caves in Waitomo, staying here is a great option!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PitmanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

On arrival everyone was very friendly and helpful and gave us good directions to places of interest in Hamilton. It was very clean and comfortable and well equipped. Handy parking too so not too far to take our cases. Would recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.0 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Property: Argent Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award recipients for four consecutive years - 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Westpac Waikato Business Excellence Award WINNER 2014. AA Traveller Supreme Host of the Year award WINNERS 2014. Designed with you, the guest in mind! Argent Motor Lodge is one of Hamilton's newest motels. We border the Waikato Hospital campus and are only a short 350m walk to Braemar Hospital. On the Southside of the City Centre we make it easy for you to head North, South, East or West. Beautifully appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchens, 32" and 40" wall mounted televisions, full hush glass for super quiet rooms and plush beds for your complete comfort. Some of our apartments have their own courtyard and all of our one and two Bedroom apartments have a full size, double ended bath. With guest services such as in-room breakfasts, guest laundry, restaurant charge backs, guest computer you will be pleased you decided to stay at Argent Motor Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing