We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected...”
Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected...”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

...and we expected a nice place given the other reviews on Trip Advisor. However when we got there we were pleasantly surprized. Clare met us in the parking lot as we pulled in and helped get us organized and to our upstairs room. After showing us around the room she let us collapse after our drive from Taupo. Later she recommended a perfect spot for dinner after asking what we thought we were looking for. Best of all the recommendation came with a 25% off coupon. After dinner we settled in for a relaxing and very comfortable night. There was a bit of road noise, largely because we ignored Clare's advise about closing the windows, opting for fresh air instead. In the morning we got another great recomendation for breakfast (alas no discount coupon) and then we were off to Auckland for the long flight home.

Hamilton was po-po'd by a lot of Kiwi's we talked to in other cities, but largely because of the Argent and Clare's restaruant recomendations we enjoyed our short time there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    67
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
172
246
53
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Firstly I have not ever stayed in a place that from the first hello you felt at home. The Owners and Staff could not be more friendly and genuine not to mention the rooms are FIRST CLASS. We are the World Festival of Magic NZ cast and we will look forwards to not only coming back to New Zealand and feeling at home but to get to Hamliton and stay in the place we FEEL at Home. Thank you Clare, Richard, Harry and Franci Your the BESTEST!!! and have the best kids =) Look forwards to their magic this year =)

Room Tip: Any room is honestly a great deal and great views and very clean. The staff makes it worth staying h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normcoxla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jindabyne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I travel to New Zealand about 4 times a year, this is the first time I have stayed at Argent Motor Lodge, and next time I come to Hamilton I will be staying here again. Very clean, very comfortable, very roomy. Every thing was just perfect, just what I like.

Thanks heaps
Lee

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Argent Motor Lodge was the best property of the five I stayed at on my week long trip to the North Island. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and large. From my understanding, the property is relatively new and it shows. Super comfortable bed and sleep. Everything was A++ (shower, television, bed, coffee maker, etc.). It can be a bit noisy with the property being right off a main road, but just shut the windows and there are no issues. Wifi was included in the price and were provided with 400 mbs which is at least twice as much as every other motel that we stayed at in NZ. Clare checked us in & out and she was super helpful and welcoming - always with a smile. We very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend for good night's rest in Hamilton!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Only stayed the one night here on the way through the region, but this was one of friendliest places we stayed in NZ. Clare was very helpful when we arrived, showed us to our room, and pointed out to close the windows to keep out the noise. She even noticed that one of us was wearing a medic-alert bracelet and asked if there was anything that we might be allergic to - even though there was nothing to worry about, we've never had that happen before and it was touch of care you don't see most places. Room was very, very quiet despite the main road being nearby. Wifi was free and worked well. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If your travels take you to this section of New Zealand (Hobbiton, Raglan, etc.), this is the ONLY place to stay. Wonderful accommodations, clean, modern, great beds and great showers.
The owners are delightful people.
If you are an experienced traveler and avoid "fancy" as we do, this place is an oasis for great value and swell people.
We were 3 adults and 2 young children and had a 2 bedroom suite. It was perfect. And the small extra charge for breakfast in your room in the morning is well worth it. By the way, all 3 adults would give it the same review.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 1 night and I stayed another 3 nights while my wife was in the Braemar Hospital. Nothing was to much trouble for Clare and Richard. My wife made the booking by phone and she found this an easy exercise. We were greeted by Richard and showed to our room. Before leaving Richard told us if we needed anything just give him a call. The room was absolutely lovely, spotless and had everything we needed. It was a five minute walk to the Braemar Hospital and not much more to Waikato Hospital. Even though it is close to the road, the road noise was not a problem, due to the double glazing. My room was service everyday and the service staff were very professional. When I left Richard and Clare were not there, but I was checked out in the same manner that my wife and I were checked in, by a lovely lady called Sharon. If you are in Hamilton and like to be treated like you are very important, stay at the Argent Motor Lodge with Clare and Richard we will be.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fungrandmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
2.0 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Property: Argent Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award recipients for four consecutive years - 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Westpac Waikato Business Excellence Award WINNER 2014. AA Traveller Supreme Host of the Year award WINNERS 2014. Designed with you, the guest in mind! Argent Motor Lodge is one of Hamilton's newest motels. We border the Waikato Hospital campus and are only a short 350m walk to Braemar Hospital. On the Southside of the City Centre we make it easy for you to head North, South, East or West. Beautifully appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchens, 32" and 40" wall mounted televisions, full hush glass for super quiet rooms and plush beds for your complete comfort. Some of our apartments have their own courtyard and all of our one and two Bedroom apartments have a full size, double ended bath. With guest services such as in-room breakfasts, guest laundry, restaurant charge backs, guest computer you will be pleased you decided to stay at Argent Motor Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing