We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!”
Review of Argent Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argent Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a great place to stay whilst in Hamilton, everything about the Argent is perfect! The rooms are spacious super clean with all the modern amenities and the TV had soooo many channels to select from.
I will be staying here from now on, better not rave too much about it because I might not get a booking next trip hahaha..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello Keith - WOW, right back at you :) Your review of your stay has just made our day. We are so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your time here. Yes, we have spacious apartments - more tv channels than you can poke a stick at and we try and provide to our guests as many amenities and goodies as possible. Why, because we think its the small things that matter. We really look forward to having you back with us Keith - thanks again!. Kind regards, Clare and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    67
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
175
246
53
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks here for a course. Have stayed in a lot of hotels/lodges across the world and I can honestly say this is the best I've stayed in. Beautiful furnishings, comfortable and warm room with heat pump. Quiet, no noise from adjacent rooms. Very pleasant owners always available to help. Laundry fascilities excellent. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! Thanks!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank emorton1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Emily - thank you! What a wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you to stay with us during your time here in Hamilton. We love that you found our apartments so comfy - which is what we want for everyone that stays. That is why we have put into our apartments the best that we can - plush beds, individually controlled heat pumps, fully equipped kitchens, wall mounted TV's, loads of desk and table space (for study and work) and beautiful bathroom amenities and goodies such as plunger coffee and cookies (replenished each day!). Thank you once again Emily. Kind regards, Clare and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is by far the best Motel I have ever stayed in. Amazing facilities. Everything is modern and clean... from entrance door, to bathroom, to bed, lighting etc. Bathroom are truly as great as they look on the photos ( I wish I would have such a nice bathroom at home). The room servicing is like in a hotel, i.e. you get your room cleaned and bed made every day!

And the owners are super helpful and friendly... Thanks!

Room Tip: Room 10 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubert683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Hubert! GOSH, what an amazing review - thank you. We really enjoyed having you both to stay with us during your time here in Hamilton. At Argent we believe in doing things right, and that includes making sure that after a busy day out and about, that our guests come back to a beautiful room - will made beds, fresh bathroom linen if needed and fully replenished kitchen and bathroom amenities. We are so pleased to know that you liked these small things that we do to make our guests feel valued. Thanks again Hubert - take care, Richard and Clare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This was a quick stop for us as on our NZ holiday as a halfway base between Auckland and Rotorua, allowing us to visit Hobbiton at Matamata the next day. We were greeted with a friendly cheer from Clare, a most wonderful host, and were helped with our luggage. Our unit was upstairs (Unit 11) and was just what we needed - warm and very comfortable. Once the windows were closed the road noise was fine, and the helicopter going by was barely heard. We also met Richard who also was a great host - you can't beat hospitality! My wife commented on how she loved the 'attention to detail' that was evident throughout the unit.
The bed was super comfy which makes a huge difference to a stay in any accommodation. Having stayed in many quality lodges, motels, units and hotels around the world we found The Argent to be excellent. Congratulations and thank-you Clare and Richard for being such friendly and helpful hosts.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank philby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello Philby19 - you have just made our day! Thank you. When we first opened Argent - we hung a canvas in our reception area. It says 'arrive as strangers, leave as friends' and this is what we strive for everyday. We believe that its the little things that matter - like being nice, caring and making our guests feel valued. Making sure that our guests are as comfortable as they can be - providing the beds that are so comfy and helping with luggage. It is after all - why we are here. We also have to say thank you to - for choosing us for your stay here in Hamilton. Hope to see you all again someday. Until then, take care. Richard and Clare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed the night before my hospital appointment and my husband stayed another two nights.
Like all the other reviews the hosts are wonderfully friendly, helpful people. The Studio Super King apartment we had was great. Fantastically clean and well equipped room. I don't know if it is a new eco "thing" but there were no electric blankets on the bed, however there are hot water bottles! Its just nice to be able to climb into a nice warm bed on a cold Hamilton night. Didn't need the hot water bottles though as the heat pump works well - except when you leave the room and take the key out - the power goes off!
We didn't hear much of the road traffic noise but the Rescue helicopter pad is situated up the hill above the motor lodge! Unfortunately, these came and went on the night I was there and it woke my husband on the following nights he was there. The helicopter also just sits and idles once it has landed and as you might imagine - it is quite loud! This is the only real downside to this motor lodge. Not sure if I would stay again, we have stayed at another motel closer to the city, so we might just go back there if required.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at Argent Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello cafegal - thank you for review of your stay with us - we really appreciate your time. It is great to know that you found our apartments to be so warm, even on a cold Hamilton winters night. The heat pumps are fantastic and are able to be controlled individually in each room - meaning you can have it as cool or warm as you would like. Being the closest motel to Waikato Hospital, it means that from time to time (as with any motel close to the hospital) you will hear the rescue helicopter. They are such a vital service to all and save lives everyday. As such, we don't focus too much on them coming across but say 'thank goodness' for them, each time they do - knowing that they make such a huge difference to the lives of many. Kind regards, Clare and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were given a lovely friendly welcome whilst checking in and being shown to our room. The room was nicely decorated with quality furniture and fittings and was very comfortable. We were particularly impressed with the cleanliness - everything was spotless!
The studio was of an ample size and was good value for money.
We highly recommend Argent and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are sound proof, so no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxxiBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The owner was extremely pleasant, welcoming, helpful and willing to please. The unit was very clean and well presented with good quality equipment. Unfortunately, it is noisy - one because it faces a main road and secondly because the medivac helicopter has a direct path over the motel to the hospital. Having said that, for a short-term stay it was most pleasant and had all the facilities a traveller could need and it is close to the City.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 63 in Hamilton
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.4 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argent Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argent Motor Lodge

Property: Argent Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Lorne Street | Melville, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argent Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Traveller's Choice Award recipients for four consecutive years - 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Westpac Waikato Business Excellence Award WINNER 2014. AA Traveller Supreme Host of the Year award WINNERS 2014. Designed with you, the guest in mind! Argent Motor Lodge is one of Hamilton's newest motels. We border the Waikato Hospital campus and are only a short 350m walk to Braemar Hospital. On the Southside of the City Centre we make it easy for you to head North, South, East or West. Beautifully appointed rooms, fully equipped kitchens, 32" and 40" wall mounted televisions, full hush glass for super quiet rooms and plush beds for your complete comfort. Some of our apartments have their own courtyard and all of our one and two Bedroom apartments have a full size, double ended bath. With guest services such as in-room breakfasts, guest laundry, restaurant charge backs, guest computer you will be pleased you decided to stay at Argent Motor Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argent Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing