We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with little extras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I was really impressed with this motel. It was clean and well-appointed with full amenities and located a 10 minute walk from Hamilton's eat street and with ample parking.

But for me the best thing was the owners had gone the extra mile to differentiate their motel. They gave us a free upgrade as they weren't very busy and offered us a free beer or softdrink on arrival. Over the Easter period while we were there they left a chocolate treat in the room - the small touches of this motel made it a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivalee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

It’s taken a long time to write but stayed here in September 2011 for the Rugby World Cup.
We stayed here for 4 nights whilst watching a rugby match. The stadium is less than a 5 minute walk which was really handy as it rained that night.

The motel was just like a mini home and we all loved it and if visiting Hamilton again would go back.

It’s only a 10 minute walk to all the shops, supermarket is across the road and good location to go off exploring other areas of New Zealand.

We had a fully kitchen with most things you could ask for including dishwasher, microwave, fridge etc. A spacious lounge and dinning area with sofas, chairs, dinning table. A washing machine and dryer were available on site at a very low cost. We had 2 bedrooms that were very comfortable.
The motel was very comfortable, clean and tidy and well looked after.

It also had a very small play area and swimming pool for small children.

The staff were all very accommodating and would help you with anything you needed or wanted with no trouble at all. We had a welcome drink on arrival and a complementary newspaper each morning.

A very pleasant stay and would highly recommend this motel to anyone visiting Hamilton for pleasure or business.

Room Tip: Had a room on the ground which was ideal if have lots of luggage. All rooms have good double glazzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizzy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The staff here were excellent. Accomodation spacious and comfortable. Nice welcoming drink. Kitchenette basic. Microwave, Toaster and kettle plus utensils and crockery. No oven or cooktop. Great location for nearby supermarket, CBD and Waikato stadium. Tariff reasonable and the place is spotless.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank macca944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Front Office Manager at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

We're to hear glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your great review.
We do have some rooms with cooking tops and some with full ovens as well so if you come back and require cooking facilities let us know and we should be able to book a room with cooking for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We spent 4 nights in the 3 bedroom townhouse (4 Adults & 2 kids) .. Very spacious, great value, very clean & the staff very helpful & friendly.
Situated in a great location - not too far from town centre (walkable or if feeling a little lazy buses are readily available).
I would definately recommend the Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlsMissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I stayed here one night only but thought it was nice and very conveniently located. It is right smack in the city and across the street from a very large supermarket, Countdown. Also next to this pace is the Speights Ale Restaurant with good food. The motel is run by a family so you'll get teenagers serving you but they are quite friendly. Despite being in the heart of Hamilton, noise was not a big issue for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed in Anglesea for 2 to 3 months for work. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable., and the bathroom is fantastic! (I have a jacuzzi tub :) ) The staff are very friendly and accommodating.
There is a big Countdown supermarket in front of the motel. And the bus station for long-distance buses is about 15 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elbianteekee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Have stayed here twice now, Good location- close to cbd- cheap $7-$9 taxi ride to hub of restaurants/pubs. Room was nice and clean and very quiet....good value for the money. Nice to have complimentary drinks on arrival too... nice touch !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.1 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#31 of 63 in Hamilton
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre

Address: 36 Liverpool Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £40 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Anglesea Motel and Conference Centre, we aim to make sure your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We offer some great free services and have plenty of parking for cars and trailers.We offer a wide range of accommodation options, conference centre facilities, townhouses and tailor-made holiday packages to suit your needs.Anglesea Motel and Conference Centre is a 42 unit complex, conveniently located on a quiet, tree lined street that makes you forget you are in the city. You are only a few minutes’ walk from some of the best Hamilton attractions including Founders Theatre, Waikato Stadium, Seddon Park and the Hamilton CBD. We're also not far from Claudelands Event Centre and plenty of great Hamilton restaurants and cafes. And we're only 1.5 hours drive from Auckland Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing