We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a big group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed 10 February 2014

As a large extended family group in town for a wedding we stayed in one of the apartments. We found it very comfortable with plenty of room for everyone to relax in. The facilities are almost like being at home, making it easy to eat in if you want to. With a supermarket just across the road its convenient.
The playground and pool are small, but the kids didn't seem to mind at all.
The staff were mostly helpful and seemed keen to ensure that we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Front Office Manager at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review Lynette. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the wedding was a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

The room was ok but not very cosy. Bathroom ok. Bit of a walk into town. The swimming pool is strangely placed in the car park. Not even big enough to swim. The owner treated us badly when we challenged why he charged us twice for our room. I would advise you find somewhere nicer where the manager actually welcomes the business. A very shoddy service indeed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lotusmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Owner at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

This couple came to the motel and booked a room and gave us a Credit Card Number, the next day they left, and we processed the credit card for a one night stay $140. The Next day the lady called and complained that she paid Cash for the room, I could not remember that she paid cash, however, I immediately informed her that a refund will be processed, which I did as soon as the phone was put down. The next day she called again threatening me that she did not get the refund I informed her that the refund was processed and that it may take a day or two to appear on her statement. She did not stop there, she started threatening me saying she was going to hand the matter to the police, the credit card, and write a bad review on Trip adviser etc., and I then sent her a copy of the processed refund. The next day she emailed us requesting another $15 for bank charges, I did inform her that we will give her the $15 she is requesting but she should do the right thing by removing all the bad review she wrote about us unnecessary. I did check the surveillance camera and I could not see any cash payment made, I don’t think she paid for the room. We gave her the benefit of doubt and did the right thing and refunded the money, but she has not stopped complaining.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for one night, having stayed at a number of motels on our trip this was ok. Clean room, good facilities.
We checked out and paid the bill in cash. A few days later we checked our credit card account and were shocked to see that we had been charged for the room! Naturally we contacted the motel, the response we received was frankly unbelievable, we were accused of 'harassing' the owner and were the subject of a hysterical rant. To date the money still hasn't been refunded.
Avoid unless you are happy to pay twice for the same room.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Reception at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We apologise for any confusion caused caused in this instance. As soon as the guest contacted us to inform us of the error a refund was made to the credit card number she provided within 5 minutes. A copy of the refund receipt was also emailed directly to the guest within 24 hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Good quiet location. Close to restaurants and supermarkets- walking distance.
Town is a few blocks away.
Larger rooms than many motels.
Plenty of off street parking.
Very good breakfast
Reasonable rates
Good value for money

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Front Office Manager at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for review Peter, we love having you to stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Lovely clean room, a lot bigger than other places I have stayed. The bed was comfortable and they have Super friendly staff. Loved the spa bath and the fact that it was so close to town. Having use of the gym was an added bonus. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Front Office Manager at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review we look forward to having you stay with us on yourt next trip to Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Having now enjoyed a long stay on business in Hamilton I was very happy with my time here. The room was clean and serviced to a high standard daily and I found all staff and management helpful, friendly and ever willing to help out where possible. The wireless internet facilities and central location made for a very convenient stay. The location also made it very easy to shop and eat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobRyan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

very nice and friendly staff which granted a late checkout and stored our bags, nice quiet room with a lot of space for our little one, nice whirlpool, well located not too far from centre, price very competitive and good value for money!

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernhardh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.1 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#31 of 63 in Hamilton
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre

Address: 36 Liverpool Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £40 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Anglesea Motel and Conference Centre, we aim to make sure your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We offer some great free services and have plenty of parking for cars and trailers.We offer a wide range of accommodation options, conference centre facilities, townhouses and tailor-made holiday packages to suit your needs.Anglesea Motel and Conference Centre is a 42 unit complex, conveniently located on a quiet, tree lined street that makes you forget you are in the city. You are only a few minutes’ walk from some of the best Hamilton attractions including Founders Theatre, Waikato Stadium, Seddon Park and the Hamilton CBD. We're also not far from Claudelands Event Centre and plenty of great Hamilton restaurants and cafes. And we're only 1.5 hours drive from Auckland Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing