We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on game day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
“Great on game day”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed one night, Chiefs vs Lions ( Go the Chiefs). The location is great,very handy to stadium, supermarket and short walk to town. Staff were very accommodating. Will definitely stay again soon :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Front Office Manager at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your review Paula, we look forward to seeing you for the next home game
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    47
    29
    17
    18
See reviews for
46
40
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Have been staying here for quite a few business appointments. Clean basic rooms and facilities. WiFi a bit week, devices very slow to do anything, stifled work that needed to be done. Breafast was late on the first morning forgotten on the second morning. Not good if you need to be out of there at a certain time. Not sure if i will stay here again if in Hamilton for further business.

Room Tip: Rooms located on supermarket side get noise from delivery trucks quite early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank The D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Front Office Manager at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place a review we appreciate feedback in order for us to know if there are areas that we need to focus on. We are currently upgrading our wifi boosters to give a stronger all round signal. We also have ultra fast broadband hardwired into every room for which cables are available at reception if required. We are also working with our cook to find a way in which to streamline our breakfast system in order to make sure the problem that you had with breakfast does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights while in Hamilton for a sporting event, 3 other couples in our group were also able to book units. Our unit was clean and comfortable, and the proprietor was friendly. We walked into the city centre easily and the nearby Speights Ale House was good for Friday night dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rod_Shona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Front Office Manager at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. A lot of our guests enjoy the fact that we are only a five minute walk to Waikato Stadium and Seddon park which makes it very easy for guests attending sporting events in Hamilton, and with plenty of parking it saves the hassle of finding a park for the game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

One night stay, passing through Hamilton. Room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is a supermarket nearby and Speights Ale House at the end of the road provided good food. A long walk to the centre and other restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ed_jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Front Office Manager at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for providing your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and yes we agree the food at Speights Ale house is excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

As a large extended family group in town for a wedding we stayed in one of the apartments. We found it very comfortable with plenty of room for everyone to relax in. The facilities are almost like being at home, making it easy to eat in if you want to. With a supermarket just across the road its convenient.
The playground and pool are small, but the kids didn't seem to mind at all.
The staff were mostly helpful and seemed keen to ensure that we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Front Office Manager at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review Lynette. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the wedding was a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The room was ok but not very cosy. Bathroom ok. Bit of a walk into town. The swimming pool is strangely placed in the car park. Not even big enough to swim. The owner treated us badly when we challenged why he charged us twice for our room. I would advise you find somewhere nicer where the manager actually welcomes the business. A very shoddy service indeed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lotusmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Owner at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
This couple came to the motel and booked a room and gave us a Credit Card Number, the next day they left, and we processed the credit card for a one night stay $140. The Next day the lady called and complained that she paid Cash for the room, I could not remember that she paid cash, however, I immediately informed her that a refund will be processed, which I did as soon as the phone was put down. The next day she called again threatening me that she did not get the refund I informed her that the refund was processed and that it may take a day or two to appear on her statement. She did not stop there, she started threatening me saying she was going to hand the matter to the police, the credit card, and write a bad review on Trip adviser etc., and I then sent her a copy of the processed refund. The next day she emailed us requesting another $15 for bank charges, I did inform her that we will give her the $15 she is requesting but she should do the right thing by removing all the bad review she wrote about us unnecessary. I did check the surveillance camera and I could not see any cash payment made, I don’t think she paid for the room. We gave her the benefit of doubt and did the right thing and refunded the money, but she has not stopped complaining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for one night, having stayed at a number of motels on our trip this was ok. Clean room, good facilities.
We checked out and paid the bill in cash. A few days later we checked our credit card account and were shocked to see that we had been charged for the room! Naturally we contacted the motel, the response we received was frankly unbelievable, we were accused of 'harassing' the owner and were the subject of a hysterical rant. To date the money still hasn't been refunded.
Avoid unless you are happy to pay twice for the same room.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Reception at Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
We apologise for any confusion caused caused in this instance. As soon as the guest contacted us to inform us of the error a refund was made to the credit card number she provided within 5 minutes. A copy of the refund receipt was also emailed directly to the guest within 24 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.4 mi away
Atrium on Ulster
Atrium on Ulster
#2 of 63 in Hamilton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre

Property: Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
Address: 36 Liverpool Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Anglesea Motel and Conference Centre, we aim to make sure your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We offer some great free services and have plenty of parking for cars and trailers.We offer a wide range of accommodation options, conference centre facilities, townhouses and tailor-made holiday packages to suit your needs.Anglesea Motel and Conference Centre is a 42 unit complex, conveniently located on a quiet, tree lined street that makes you forget you are in the city. You are only a few minutes’ walk from some of the best Hamilton attractions including Founders Theatre, Waikato Stadium, Seddon Park and the Hamilton CBD. We're also not far from Claudelands Event Centre and plenty of great Hamilton restaurants and cafes. And we're only 1.5 hours drive from Auckland Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing