We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly service and quality room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, friendly service and quality room”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Have stayed here once before and will be my place of choice in Hamilton. Very friendly service. Room was very well presented and comfortable. The staff very helpful with all the requirements I had. The pool and spa was a great asset as it was very hot when i was there. All up, 5 star

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Brett,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed you’ve enjoyed stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again next time you’re in Hamilton.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    84
    48
    16
    10
See reviews for
58
77
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This motel is newly refurbished and the rooms are spacious and airy with comfortable beds and are well appointed and more than adequate. There is a small outdoor pool with a spa and loads of parking. The price is really good for what you get and overall excellent value for money. You get free Wifi although it did not seem to last long despite claiming to be 100mb. Breakfast is expensive at NZ$20 however there are plenty of places nearby to eat. In particular 'The Helm' opposite was good for dinner and they do a superb $10 breakfast but unfortunately only on Sundays. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this motel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor of the tower block and it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My only complaint from this hotel was the traffic noise. (We were across from a set of traffic lights and the noise of cars acceleratating etc was constant). The noise did however stop as it got later but started up early in the morning. Apart from this a very comfortable room with lovely beds and a nice comfortable and warm bedspread (love the bedspread). The room was clean and over all a nice place. Perhaps there are quieter parts of the hotel, however it does appear to be on an intersection.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avagraceisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador for three days so we could pack up the house prior to settlement. We based our decision on the previous reviews and there is clearly a difference between the upgraded rooms and the others including the one we stayed in. Our double bedroom apartment was shabby, most of the window locks were broken, there was rotting skirting in the bathroom and what appeared to be asbestos on the ceiling. The thin carpet didn't hide the fact it was applied directly onto the concrete floor. The freezer was so full of ice that the fridge door couldn't close. It was reminiscent of a student flat. The room wasn't serviced for three days (towels) and the bins weren't emptied. We were allowed one key for 5 of us which was extremely inconvenient (we asked for another but were declined). Pool is great and the service was good but overall we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HillJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The ambassador is a well kept property in every respect. One traditional motel block and a highrise adjunct tower. Nice pool, restaurant and conference rooms for business meetings. The room rate was very reasonable and the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. We had a couple of hot days and the powerful A/C easily kept our room comfortable. The location is convenient. There is a 'Nosh' grocery adjoining, a pak&save giant grocery across the street, a fuel station on the same block. You can walk to 'Grillers' restaurant for a good burger. Our stay included 100mb of wi-fi and if that isn't enough, just 4 blocks south in the city centre you can access the Hamilton online with totally free and unmeasured wi-fi. Score! So take a break and enjoy a nice city from a great location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Had a lovely stay as we were up from Christchurch for a wedding. Our room was very nice (business suite) and clean and I must say the bed was super comfy and I remember the sheets being quality as well!
Staff at reception were also very friendly and I would recommend this motel to anyone travelling to Hamilton.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narre Warren, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

We were in Hamilton under very sad circumstances .. My " young adult" children needed accommodation for a few days - The staff at The Ambassador were absolutely fantastic & so understanding of our situation - we are so appreciative of the offers of help & understanding & I would like to say THANK YOU! & I would recommend The ambassador to any travelers passing through Hamilton ( location is also a plus - very close to shops & restaurants )

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlsMissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#4 of 63 in Hamilton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.1 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel The Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Property: Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel The Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing