We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I was made to feel very welcome & was not disappointed with the any aspect of my stay. Denise & her team were very professional & the cafe provides a fantastic breakfast & start to the day!The refurbed rooms are up to modern day standards with fresh & soft linens with thick& comfortable mattresses as well as plasma tv's & all the usual tea/ coffee making facilities. Thanks for making my time in Hamilton most enjoyable!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Mark,
Thank you for your superb review, we have passed on your compliments to the staff and were much appreciated. Our café is currently undergoing exciting refurbishments and will re-open in a couple of weeks with a brand new look and name! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our refurbished Executive Studios (we love them too)! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Hamilton.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Great value for money. clean and comforatble. Big balcony.
Cafe on site. Great bed.Walking distance to town.
Easy parking.Would stay again for Business travel.
No complaints from me- Friendly service also.

Room Tip: My Room was in the Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Tayna,
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review and sharing your Ambassador experience with other travellers. We are certainly in a very convenient location to stay being so close to town and with our café onsite. In fact, our café is currently undergoing exciting renovations and will be re-opening Fieldays week with a brand new look and name. The café is open to the public also so if you’re in Hamilton on a day trip even, feel very welcome to pop in for a coffee!
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Have stayed here once before and will be my place of choice in Hamilton. Very friendly service. Room was very well presented and comfortable. The staff very helpful with all the requirements I had. The pool and spa was a great asset as it was very hot when i was there. All up, 5 star

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Brett,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed you’ve enjoyed stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again next time you’re in Hamilton.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This motel is newly refurbished and the rooms are spacious and airy with comfortable beds and are well appointed and more than adequate. There is a small outdoor pool with a spa and loads of parking. The price is really good for what you get and overall excellent value for money. You get free Wifi although it did not seem to last long despite claiming to be 100mb. Breakfast is expensive at NZ$20 however there are plenty of places nearby to eat. In particular 'The Helm' opposite was good for dinner and they do a superb $10 breakfast but unfortunately only on Sundays. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this motel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor of the tower block and it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My only complaint from this hotel was the traffic noise. (We were across from a set of traffic lights and the noise of cars acceleratating etc was constant). The noise did however stop as it got later but started up early in the morning. Apart from this a very comfortable room with lovely beds and a nice comfortable and warm bedspread (love the bedspread). The room was clean and over all a nice place. Perhaps there are quieter parts of the hotel, however it does appear to be on an intersection.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avagraceisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador for three days so we could pack up the house prior to settlement. We based our decision on the previous reviews and there is clearly a difference between the upgraded rooms and the others including the one we stayed in. Our double bedroom apartment was shabby, most of the window locks were broken, there was rotting skirting in the bathroom and what appeared to be asbestos on the ceiling. The thin carpet didn't hide the fact it was applied directly onto the concrete floor. The freezer was so full of ice that the fridge door couldn't close. It was reminiscent of a student flat. The room wasn't serviced for three days (towels) and the bins weren't emptied. We were allowed one key for 5 of us which was extremely inconvenient (we asked for another but were declined). Pool is great and the service was good but overall we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HillJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The ambassador is a well kept property in every respect. One traditional motel block and a highrise adjunct tower. Nice pool, restaurant and conference rooms for business meetings. The room rate was very reasonable and the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. We had a couple of hot days and the powerful A/C easily kept our room comfortable. The location is convenient. There is a 'Nosh' grocery adjoining, a pak&save giant grocery across the street, a fuel station on the same block. You can walk to 'Grillers' restaurant for a good burger. Our stay included 100mb of wi-fi and if that isn't enough, just 4 blocks south in the city centre you can access the Hamilton online with totally free and unmeasured wi-fi. Score! So take a break and enjoy a nice city from a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel The Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range: £61 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel The Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing