We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay unfortunately can't choose your neighbours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay unfortunately can't choose your neighbours”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Tried somewhere different to stay this time so went with Trip advisor feedback and booked this one. Good location, all you need close by. Stay would have been excellent if not for other inconciderate guests. Temp management friendly and helpful

Room Tip: We stayed at top of tower block which offered a city view from pleasent balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Mark,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Ambassador.
We apologize for the disturbance to your stay caused by our other guests. We are always contactable and willing to resolve any issues that may arise during our guest’s stay.
Great to hear that our temporary management were friendly and helpful, this is what we like to hear!
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    84
    48
    16
    9
See reviews for
58
77
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Very friendly staff. Excellent location, adjacent to supermarket, and walkable into city centre.
Older style rooms but with a lot of space which was really nice as we were travelling with our 6-month old daughter.
The set-up of the portacot was utterly gorgeous - all made up and turned down just like a bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkamkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review of our motel.
Your compliments were passed on to our staff and were much appreciated.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels and hope to see you again next time you’re in New Zealand.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

After mentioning that the room was a little noisy - I'm a light sleeper and Hamilton has many boy racers - we were moved to a lovely comfortable room in the tower block. Had a great nights sleep and Anthony on reception is a great guy and very helpful.
Happily stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheppy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your lovely review, we have passed on your compliments to Anthony. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Had a lovely time at The Ambassador. The recepetionist was lovely (can't remember his name unfortunately) and really helpful. Comfy beds and a good shower were a bonus - often don't get 1 let alone both of those at some places! I didn't get time to use the pool but it did look extremely inviting! I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Hamilton.
Thanks heaps!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley-Shadbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Ashley,
Thank you for your lovely review, we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to advise other travelers of your positive experience. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed at The Ambassador, had to have a catch up with someone in Hamilton.
Hannah is the best receptionist...so welcoming...I was really impressed with the work they had done...
My son loved the pool and hot tub.....Going back this week.
Nice and handy to everything.....

Room Tip: Choose a room handy to the pool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wayns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review of The Ambassador and the recent renovations. Great to hear your son made the most of the pool and hot tub also! We look forward to your next stay with us next time you’re in Hamilton.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The team at Ambassador were awesome for our wheelchair tennis players during their 5 day stay at the motel. Excellent value for money. Great atmosphere and awesome staff. Very good indeed. Looking forward to a couple more access rooms next year :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffiney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Tiffiney,
Thank you and NZ Wheelchair Tennis for choosing hold you welcoming function, staying with us and your excellent review. We certainly pride ourselves on the outgoing and friendly atmosphere which you have highlighted in your review. Our 16 new units which we are currently building will include a couple more accessible rooms available for your tournament next year. We look forward to seeing you then!
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

I was made to feel very welcome & was not disappointed with the any aspect of my stay. Denise & her team were very professional & the cafe provides a fantastic breakfast & start to the day!The refurbed rooms are up to modern day standards with fresh & soft linens with thick& comfortable mattresses as well as plasma tv's & all the usual tea/ coffee making facilities. Thanks for making my time in Hamilton most enjoyable!

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Mark,
Thank you for your superb review, we have passed on your compliments to the staff and were much appreciated. Our café is currently undergoing exciting refurbishments and will re-open in a couple of weeks with a brand new look and name! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our refurbished Executive Studios (we love them too)! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Hamilton.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 63 in Hamilton
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.1 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel The Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Property: Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel The Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing