We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel - 28 of us and an awesome weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great motel - 28 of us and an awesome weekend”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked in as a sports group of 28 - it was perfect - however perfect for anyone travelling, and there was a real mixture of guests. Staff were fantastic even when shifts changed they all knew about us and our requirements - shows good management and attentive staff. There is a great pool/bbq area for everyone to enjoy. We had a mixture of room sizes and everyone was very happy, we had mainly 2 bdrm rooms and they were just great - so spacious - yes they are basic and not 'luxury' but I did not expect anything more then what we got, and it was fantastic value for what we paid for. Plus shops are across the road made life easy! Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Mel S,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay here with us at The Ambassador.

We are glad that we were able to accommodate your group and that everything went well. We pride ourselves in our customer service and ensuring that everyone one of our team members is aware of all our guests and are able to provide consistent excellent service!

Our location is great for groups such as yourself with easy access to the main roads to get to the various venues around town and having the shops across the road takes the hassle out of sourcing supplies!

Thank you once again, we wish you all the best and look forward to being of service again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Rawinia Putt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    76
    40
    16
    8
See reviews for
53
58
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to other families with children. My husband and I with our x5 children stayed here over the Christmas period and we received great customer service from the staff who were very friendly and accommodating, first class customer service. We are a big family and the family room we stayed in was very clean and spacious, beds were comfortable. The pool was a highlight of our stay as the children spent most the time in the pool & spa. I'm reading a previous review where it talks about the fence & kids climbing over it, well this wasn't a problem for me with my young children as they know not to climb over fences that have pools!! and children would need a chair to climb it as it seems to high for them to climb. The fence was secure and had a lockable gate and the height of it seems fine. Great location of the hotel been in the city where we enjoyed the display of the city lights all on at night. We are placing this hotel on our list of hotels to visit again. Thank you Ambassdor Hotel for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Great Family Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanz502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Lanz502

Thank you so much for your review on your stay here with us at the Quality Hotel Ambassador.

It was a pleasure having you and your family staying here with us over the Christmas period, it was great to see everyone having a good time and enjoying the facilities.

We are glad that everything went smoothly and we thank you for choosing us.

Wishing you all the very best.

Kind Regards
Rawinia Putt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waihi Beach, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Would not stay here again. The service was great and very friendly but the stay was let down. The pool is not fenced adequately and needs attention to make it legal, my kids were able to climb over it to gain access to the pool. And the smoke detector was missing from our room. The bed was uncomfortable but clean. Travelling with young kids I will be looking for a motel that puts the single beds in the bedroom not in the lounge, or else puts a tv in the room with the big bed. The room was adequate and clean just very tired. It was a very noisey location, we had to leave windows open due to hot temperatures and no air con so heard all the fun of Hamilton street life on a Saturday night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorhamilton, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Good Afternoon Mike and Family,

Thank you for choosing the Quality Hotel Ambassador for your recent stay in Hamilton.

We appreciate you taking the time to make a review, in turn, making us aware of some issues that you had faced.

I am pleased to inform you that we have had some new fencing erected around the swimming pool so now it is unable to be climbed and can only be accessed by the gate as intended.

The smoke detector that was missing from your room was overlooked when they were all taken down for monthly scheduled maintenance. This was immediately returned once I became aware of this.

I hope this sets your mind at ease, knowing that we take notice of all feedback and appreciate the comments and concerns of our guests to ensure all future guests have a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Best Wishes
Rawinia Putt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Myself and colleagues have been staying at the ambassador this year finishing a project at a waikato plant. Initially we booked online but have since booked directly. We're on a first name basis now, all I have to say is how many of the team are coming and Hannah has our preferred units ready to go that afternoon. The customer service is what makes the place stand out from the rest of Hamilton's hotels and has made my role very simple. The business rooms have everything we've needed, are always clean and while we won't be back again until later next year recommend that corporates passing through Hamilton stay with the Ambassador, Hannah will look after you!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool as it quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendels21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Wendy,
Thank you for choosing The Ambassador as your business’ Hamilton base this year, we’ve really enjoyed having your team stay with us and look forward to seeing you all again in 2014! As a team, we pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and it is always great to receive positive feedback on it. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, your feedback is much appreciated. We wish you and all the team a Merry Christmas and will have your pool-side Business Studios ready for you in the New Year!
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for a night in Hamilton on our way north. The room was clean and comfortable with fresh white sheets on the bed. The gentleman (I think his name is Andrew) on the front desk was extremely helpful and only too pleased to help or advise.

I left something behind in the room and the hotel kept hold of it until we returned and I was able to collect it.

Can recommend the Ambassador.

Room Tip: We had no room service and were not aware of a fitness centre. As we stayed only one night had we kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Cat,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room comfortable. We have passed your compliments on to Andrew and thank you for recommending The Ambassador. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Zealand.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed 1 night and were very impressed with the efficient friendly service, and the cleanliness and standard of furnishings in our room. The breakfast at The Cube was great as well - highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catieh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Catie,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to review and recommend The Ambassador. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and made the most of our onsite café/lounge! Again, thank you for staying and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here during a business trip to hamilton. Room was as advertised. The decor is very very dated. Bathroom --> very basic and small. Only the bed is made up for you on a daily basis. The rest of the stuff is not even touched. I had a cup of coffee sitting in the room for 2 days.

Basic hotel. Good for short stays only.

The staff however are the game changer.... very friendly, very courteous cafe staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sood_varun85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Varun,
Thank you for staying at The Ambassador and providing us with a review of your stay. We understand your comments regarding your Standard Studio and would welcome you to stay in one of our refurbished Business or Executive Studios next time you are in Hamilton to experience the updated décor. We will be reviewing our daily housekeeping servicing and have passed on your compliments to our Cube Lounge staff. Again, thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel The Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Property: Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel The Ambassador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing