We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, pristine & great service - cant do better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Smart, pristine & great service - cant do better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great value - an unexpected surprise, very high quality and oh-so-clean. Five stars - I'll come again.
I think recently refurbished, my suite was ENORMOUS - more like a small self-catering flat. My bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms I've experienced!
Tastefully decorated and furnished, felt very high quality throughout, kitchen was neat with everything you could want. Was warm & inviting when I arrived on a cold Winter day.
Although close to busy roads the rooms were very quiet - I couldnt hear next door rooms at all and no traffic noise. Good thick drapes so no streetlights shining through at night.
Best of all the staff were really helpful and friendly - not always something you expect in a motel setting.

Garage clean and well lit and well appointed conference room at the Clarion next door which I was able to use ad hoc for a brief meeting.

Liked that it was really close to supermarket and petrol station - makes life easy when you're on a road trip.

Points for improvement (admittedly not many!) - front door security card system you need to have the right 'knack' - staff were really helpful showing how to use so it was OK. Lighting in garage could stay on overnight - as a single woman travelling alone I prefer areas like this to be well lit.

Room Tip: All rooms would be excellent based on my experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrEC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us! We appreciate all feedback and glad that you had a enjoyable time and were able to make the most of your time in Hamilton!

We look forward to having you back again in the future!

Kind regards
Rawinia Putt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    75
    36
    16
    8
See reviews for
52
57
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Throughly enjoyed my stay thanks to Josh on reception even managed to get a coffee in The Cube Cafe when we were leaving, Will you make a great coffee. After traveling around for the past few weeks it was nice to relax and unwind in a clean and comfortable room. All we were after was a nice comfy bed and we certainly got that. Will be back again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicole-And
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Nicole,

Thanks so much for your feedback, we really appreciate your time out to do it.

We are glad that you had a brilliant stay. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to my team, we pride ourselves in outstanding service!

Thanks again, we look forward to having you stay if you are back up here again in the future.

Kind regards

Rawinia Putt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the new Clarion suites last week for two nights. Beautiful spacious rooms with full kitchen facilities made you feel at home. Very good friendly service. ..will be staying again :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kentskellern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Kentskellern,

Thanks for your feedback - we appreciate your time!

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Clarion, we hope it was restful and a nice break for you!

Visit us again soon!

Regards

Rawinia Putt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I was in Hamilton to watch the Chiefs beat the Hurricanes and I was offered an upgrade to the new Clarion Suites, a recent addition to the Quality Hotel Ambassador. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, warm and cosy. Really worth an upgrade next time your in Hamilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Don M,

Thanks for taking the time out to give us some feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Clarion and we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon!

Kind regards,

Rawinia Putt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piopio, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I held a baby shower at the Ambassador's Cube Lounge last weekend and the whole experience was fantastic. The communication with Wil prior to the occasion was great, on the day his Staff were so helpful, happy and nothing was a problem. Definitely above and beyond! We had a hi-tea and the food and tea was amazing. One guest commented it was superior to the Chateaus Hi-Tea that she had been to recently. The venue was perfect for our group. Warm, welcoming and homely atmosphere, lots of natural light, modern, clean and professional. Facilities were clean with all the extra little touches that make a difference. Thank you all so much for making our day so relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: If organising a function etc maybe give the guests directions as it appeared to be hard to find, may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi PPLisa!

Thanks so much for your great feedback!! We were pleased to have you here with us and glad that everyone had a great time at the Baby Shower - it was a pleasure to have you here!

The Cube Lounge is a fantastic venue that we are very proud of and glad it was a great space for your event. It is quite versatile and we a proud to say we can cater to any event and hope that we will be considered for any thing in the future!

I'm pleased to get feedback on our team and will most certainly pass on your thanks and congratulations Will and the team in the cafe.

Thank you again!

Rawinia Putt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying here on a recent visit to Hamilton for work. I remember staying here a few years ago and seeing the changes here was amazing! The place has had a makeover in recent times and it has brought this old gem into the 21st century. I stayed in a lovely room in the top of the tower overlooking the swimming pool. The bed was beautiful, the linen crisp and carpets clean and the bathroom immaculate! Such pride is obviously taken in the presentation of the rooms, and after running into a lovely housekeeper in the hallway this was evident. She was more than happy to grab me an extra towel and for me, and even added a couple of extra tea sachets for me after seeing I enjoyed it so much!

The welcome I received was amazing. The young lad on the desk Josh went above and beyond, welcoming me like I was royalty, accommodating me at short notice, and assisting my in getting some faxes sent for a report I needed to get back to my office. He was clearly busy with other guests at the time but I noticed he took care of each and everyone of us who had bombarded him at the time with courteous, and personal service and by the reaction of all the guests, some of whom who looked like they were clearly frustrated by their day, they all appreciated it with the smiles and kind words they left with - well done young man, your experience and professionalism shines and your passion for your work is obvious.

I had a delicious experience in the cafe, with an outstanding breakfast and the coffee was to die for!

Upon departure, I was greeted by the young woman who is in charge of this operation. What a delight. We got talking, business, news, kids, family, everything was personable and I was taken on a tour of the new hotel that has been completed which is amazing in its own right. I'm looking forward to staying there on my next visit.

Thanks for a brilliant stay - keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Request the tower, the higher floors facing the pool offer a bit more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi jsan56,

Thank you so much for your great feedback on your stay with us! We value all feedback that we get and just love to see stories like yours!

I'm glad that you got to experience all that we have to offer here, we do try to accommodate each and every guest and request that have, and do our utmost to ensure a pleasant stay.

Our guests are our number one priority being in a customer service industry, and we take pride in offering personal, attentive service!!

Thank you again, and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Kind regards,
Rawinia Putt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Three of us stayed recently for a business trip.Although there was traffic noise early on this hotel was quiet enough to sleep well. We had a one bedroom unit in which the beds were well spaced.The staff member we dealt with was friendly and accommodating. As we weren't comfortable driving in Hamilto it wasgreat to be able to leave our car here for the day after we'd checked out, and then walk to our business venue.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybug_nz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Ladybug!

Thanks for your review on your recent stay with us - we appreciate your feedback!

I am pleased that you were accommodated well and enjoyed your stay and got a good nights rest. Our location is definitely a high point with proximity to major CBD locations within walking distance, it takes the hassle out of driving in a new town and finding a park!

Thanks once again, we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

All the best,
Rawinia Putt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.6 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel The Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Property: Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel The Ambassador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing