We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We arrived at 3.20pm to be told our room was not available and wouldn't be ready for at least another hour. When I expressed that this wasn't good service I was informed that that was why I was getting free parking! Very defensive attitude from a rather rude young lady!! Then I was informed that the previous night had been busy because of rugby and that was why our room was not ready, not sure why excuses need to be made for poor service?
Finally made it to the room and the key cards were not working ! When my husband expressed frustration to the receptionist she pleaded "you are not going to yell at me are you???". Also a bit miffed as to why we got charged a $60.00 bond?
All in all a strange experience rooms were nice though !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreafNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Guest. I really appreciate it that you took the time to inform us about your recent stay with us. Let me start by offering my apologies for the miscommunication from my front desk. I do agree with you that a busy hotel should not make excuses for late check-ins if the hotel has been full the previous night. I will discuss all your comments with my front office manager and ensure that proper training is provided to those needed. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    504
    151
    34
    13
See reviews for
234
414
69
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is touted as the best hotel in Hamilton which is why it was booked. Unfortunately I don't think this hotel really deserves its 4.5 half billing. I've stayed at 3 stars in the last 2 months that has way better service, rooms and facilities.

Yes the location is great, on the main drag with every type of cuisine option close by. It's also by the riverside which I didn't get to experience - had a room on the main road right opposite the guest laundry! Can't fathom why they would put me in what I consider the worst room location when the hotel wasn't too busy ( I did check).

The rooms were fine apart from a few issues. White floro lighting in all lamps except entry hallway and mini-bar are - I detest these as they are so sterile and they make me think of hospitals - not a luxury room.

Apart from the soap and shampoo in the bathrooms, there is little extra - no shower caps, earbuds etc - that is generally provided at all hotels these days. Heating was pretty erratic and pillows and towels weren't as good as I would expect in a hotel of this standard.

Check-in was great but checkout was a real pain as I waited for ages with no acknowledgement from any of the 3 people standing at the checkout desk even as a courtesy. The actual checkout itself was rushed to the point of rude.

I will stay in a motel next time - there isn't anything that I would consider worth coming back for, especially at the price point of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside location, away from the street noise - rooms from X01 to X10 would probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasneem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we did not meet your requirements while being with us. The period in which you stayed with us, has been busy, but that does not mean that we should provide you with the service we stand for. All your comments will be discussed with my managers and we will do our utmost to see whether we can improve on the shortfall you have encountered. Our amenities are standard set ups for the Novotel rooms, however we do have some extras available for our guests upon request. My apolgies for not a great stay. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I spent a week here on business and found he hotel had all the facities required for that sort of stay. Location was handy to the main road in Hamilton and plenty of free parking for guests. The chef in the restaurant is very good. All my meals were standouts. Worht a visit just for the meals alone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konrad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your comments in regards to our hotel and in particular to our chef, who was recommended by you for his outstanding dishes. He will certainly be pleased with these comments. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager, Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 63 in Hamilton
935 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Property: Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing