We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Week of Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    485
    147
    32
    13
See reviews for
225
401
66
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
459 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

In Hamilton for a conference - so the hotel was busy. Staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. Air conditioning worked well. Having to pay so much for wireless broadband in the room is an absolute pain (and in my opinion unnecessary). Nice restaurant - very good breakfast. Valet car parking worked well. We can recommend this hotel and will welcome the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear John. Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay around your conference in Hamilton. Look forward to welcome you back soon. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Great location. Stadium was 10-15min walk away. Centre of town though there wasnt much happening!
Hotel was clean and comfortable, twin room was sufficient! Booked a family room, unavailable for an early check in so was offered a smaller, cheaper alternative, thanks.
Bathroom though was a lil dated-not to bothered!
Was on the riverside so had great view. Warriors also staying at the hotel, and a whole lota aussie bulldog supporters ... Great Stay :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 924bernardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest. It is always appreciated that read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The weekend of the league game was really busy and we are happy that you have enjoyed it. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and the room was lovely. I had issues with the automatic scent used in the hallways, it was very strong and made me feel unwell, when I spoke to the manager they altered the strength and frequency on our floor which was a big help.
We had breakfast in the cafe on our first morning and it was appalling..Cafe Staff disinterested and un helpful and the quality was very poor.
The rest of the staff friendly and efficient. Would stay again.
Great Italian cafe across the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smk20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest. Really appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. At the same time, I am also appreciative about your comments in regards to our breakfast. I will discuss your comments with my manager of the restaurant and make improvements where we can. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitaia, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were very pleased with our stay,convenient to where our destination was.
The champs with breakfast for Mothers day was a nice touch, and all personal were very pleasant.Wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Hotel to others.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Jeannette. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I really hope that you enjoyed the rest of Mother's Day. Best regards, Dick Breukink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Property: Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing