We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rennovations make all the difference - poor service still though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Rennovations make all the difference - poor service still though”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Wanted to give the hotel a better rating than my last review but there was only one other option - so it gets 5 stars now.

Have had 2 stays in the newly rennovated rooms - they are great. (I'm told currently only 3rd & 4th floors have been done at the moment; 1st & 2nd to be done next year, so do ask when checking in). Pleasing modern decor, and now with some basics like USB power supply and ipod docking station. Room and corridors smell nice and fresh (not stale as before). Really comfy beds, nice crisp linen. Rooms don't seem as large as before (they are) but I think that's because of the height of the new beds and the extra desk/table you can sit at if you're eating/working and want to watch the telly. Wall mounted telly saves space too.
Reason for poor service rating was ... both stays i called housekeeping - 20 rings later it goes to voicemail. Call Operator and after 5 mins of hold music/messages, get transferred to reception. Eventually reception answers. This stay, I'm missing a TV remote (ie tv won't work without this) - it arrives 3 hours later as Reception & Porters have been busy. Voucher for house wine included, but still .... 3 hours?! At least I got some work done. Check-in and check-out nice and efficient and friendly.

Overall a good experience and this hotel is now my preferred one in Hamilton.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welly_China_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    501
    149
    34
    13
See reviews for
233
411
69
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2010

The Novotel at Hamilton was very modern and clean. The staff were extra friendly and assisted us with all queries. It provided great value with our breakfast included. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBris2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Great place to stay, would liked to have been able to stay longer

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Beautiful Hotel, outstanding staff, would go back again!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Property: Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing