We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't recommend if you want home comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
Ranked #52 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't recommend if you want home comforts”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Didnt enjoy - exterior door lock broken. upgraded - security card didnt work, tv had 1 channel, bath tap fell off, steamed out (no extraction fan), jug couldnt fit under tap. Dropped key off to be greeted a woman who didnt even smile. Wont be back .... so dated:-(

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review, 25 April 2015
Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    6
    8
    30
See reviews for
13
18
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Terrible place to stay, not clean, dated, nothing works, I almost froze to death with no heater, no extra blanket. I didn't want to use the top cover as was so dirty and I found lots of hair that was not mine.
The room smelled like smoke (marijoana), the kettle didn't fit under the tap, the TV made me laugh (old fuzzy TV that witles) wall paper pilling off, thin walls.... I was considering leaving, or sleeping in the car.... But was late and very cold night.... Aaargh I can't believe I paid to stay there....

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review, 25 April 2015
Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The room smelt of smoke, bed was very uncomfortable as was the pillows, sheets were not clean as my girlfriend got a reaction for them. The bathroom was very dangerous, as water went everywhere when I had a shower. Overall not a very enjoyable impression as we just wanted to get out of there ASAP.

Room Tip: Avoid it. There are more nicer placers then this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I've stayed in this motel 3 times in the past year and it was always great!
Managers behind the desk are always friendly and very helpful. Plenty of off-street parking.
I am a solo female traveler, so really appreciate double security: hallway has a security door accessible only with a valid room key, so no one who doesn't belong can get to your room door.
Rooms are truly very spacious: queen bed, couch,coffee table, not one, but 2 desks (so I had plenty of work space for my computer,notes,diary,etc) and still plenty of room to move around freely. There was also a balcony with table and chairs (individual for each room).
Jacuzzi tab deserves a special mention: HUGE. There is also a shower for those who prefer and it has great water pressure and gets hot in no time at all.
Bedside table has controls for lights in the room and build-in radio-you don't need to get out of bed to switch them on and off.
Super clean everything and new linen.
Decor is a bit dated, but I travel a lot all over New Zealand and you will be hard-pressed to find a truly modern motel: they are very,very few. Besides, cleanliness is way more important to me than aesthetics.
Restaurant on the premises is not always open, but I am a foodiw and much prefer sampling the many restaurants Hamilton has to offer, as the motel located just a short walk from CBD.
This trip I noted brand new heat pumps w/remote control installed in the rooms-fab!
I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Hamilton.

Room Tip: Personally, I prefer rooms 29 and 38-those are the ones I've stayed at and described above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

On arrival shown to a room overwhelmingly smelling of smoke. Very dated furnishings from the 70's. Bed linen not overly clean. Hair (not mine) amongst the covers. Pillow slips had smears of what looked like black grease stains. Spa broken. TV reception terrible. Unable to fill kettle as too large for basin. Again spa broken so unable to fill over bath. Was told by management to use a cup to fill. demanded another room but the decor was the same and the ceiling in bathroom badly water damaged. Looked like it would cave in. Bed uncomfortable and only one blanket provided. Pillows were like rocks. Very cheap and nasty. Needs lots of upgrading.
Original personnel on duty at checkin was hopeless. Fortunately replaced by a lovely man who tried his best to make things right. He had little to work with however.
My advice is to steer clear of this one. Does not deserve its star rating.
Bad experience altogether.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanIneW1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Says restaurant bar etc none was operating when we stayed an it was full for the ABs & Ireland test also our room was leaking water dripping from ceiling all night room in need of paint etc

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gobush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Late arrival, very friendly greeting, was expecting a very basic room for the amount I had paid - quite a surprise when a good sized, clean and well presented room appeared. A spa bath topped it off. Flat screen tv, broadband and comfortable bed
Restaurant looked disappointing and closed at 8.00pm (Wed night) but otherwise the place was ideal for a short stay close to the CBD.

Room Tip: Ground floor rear was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rotoitifarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.0 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#29 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auto Lodge Motel
Auto Lodge Motel
#24 of 62 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boundary Court Motor Inn
Boundary Court Motor Inn
#21 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.4 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton

Property: Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
Address: 290 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ai piedi del Monte Bonifato, immersi nella natura a 3km dalla città, unico B&B con possibilità di pagare le ore effettive di pernottamento, servizi disponibili come il trasfert aeroportuale da e per PA/TP, escursioni Isole Egadi, Terme Segestane e tanto altro, possibilità di pensione completa. Tutte le camere con bagno interno, parcheggio custodito privato. Area meeting e conferenze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcamo Hotel Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing