We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has improved a lot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stumbled on this hotel through this site and noticed that it had poor reviews up to about 6 weeks ago, so we thought we would try it for ourselves and see if it had improved.
The Hosts and owners Pete and Sandy are very friendly and very accommodating. They have only owned the hotel for a couple of months and are still in the process of renovating and bringing it up to standard ... they are doing a great job.
One of the draw cards for us was the large round spa bath that you can comfortably fit two people in and a bottle of wine.
Everything was clean and worked as it was supposed to. We enjoyed our overnight stay and would happily recommend the Alcamo.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple, grab a bottle of your favourite wine and try out the spa bath.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Wow... that's lovely of you to say, we are making steady progress toward our goal of making this a go to destination in Hamilton , I hope you will come again soon and see for yourself the improvements we have done since your last stay :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

stayed one night and found the staff and owners really friendly and helpful. They have recently brought the complex and have a huge challenge ahead but in a short time have made significant improvements. The rooms are tired but present very well with new curtains and very pleasing accessories. Unlike previous reports everything worked well, the shower was great and things are obviously on the improve. Would stay there again as I think it will only get better

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

its great to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with our upgrades... and we have made so much more improvements since your stay we would love for you to come back and check them all out :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nothing worked : Sky TV, Internet , Refrigerator , microwave ... sad old worn ...window locks broken , one window cracked ... we checked in late about 9 PM and office closed so we were left with no recourse but to accept place " as is "
Skip the place and stay at a well maintained place instead so you are not aggravated like I am

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

I understand that you were "aggravated" with the state of some things in your room, At the time of your stay with us we had owned the hotel for 4 weeks and lived on site - there for the office was and is always open ..... , we have spent the time since making numerous improvements.
I'm sorry you've not enjoyed your stay and would like the opportunity to show you the upgrades we have made in the last 12 months,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Four of us stayed here and we're very disappointed. The list of problems are to many to list, but our main gripes were ventilation fan in toilet/shower didn't work and the window opened into the bedroom! Very shabby throughout kettle had to be filled from sink in toilet and cups washed in basin. Holes in bedroom wall etc.etc. give this place a miss there are far better motels available.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank mutly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Alcamo Hotel is now under new management and we have made substantial improvements in the last 12 months. we would like the opportunity to change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After staying in this hotel we were disgusted at the service, cleanliness and also paying for a room we did not get.
We payed for a King and got what they said was a queen but we believe it was a double. My wife had to sleep in the single bed as there was not enough room.
They were both very uncomfortable and extremely had. There were cochroaches in the bathroom and hairs in the spa bath.
When I contacted reception about the bed they said they would give a 10% discount next time we stayed. Like we would ever stay here again!!!
Most of all we were annoyed that we paid for a king room and did not receive it. My wife and I dont get away that often as we have children and were very dissapointed with this accomodation and would not reccomend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

While that guy on reception was nice enough the rooms were pretty appalling
We had a holethe wall above the bed. The form of heating in the room was a very old very loud fan type heater.
The decor was very dated, although appeared clean. The bathroom was not so clean and the bath was rather hard to get in and out of, and would be surprised if there hasn't been accidents while attempting to
In the time we were there, we didn't see the restaurant open and ended up dining and having a few drinks at a hotel down the road.
Not a place I would stay again in a hurry.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Got to agree with most of the reviews. If New Zealand is CLEAN as is promoted by government then this type of accom should not exist, but it does and its not the only one on the golden mile strip that should be taken to the cleaners. My room although good size has had very little done to it since it was built. The only thing I can think of is the flat screen tv. Pull away the side table next to bed and dead cockroach bodies and decaying walls. Shower, Paint peeling of the ceiling, shower tray, well the pictures tell the story. Was only for a night at rate as best you will get on the strip midweek. Pay more and get more I suppose but not at this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.0 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#29 of 63 in Hamilton
54 reviews
1.3 mi away
VR Hamilton Hotel
VR Hamilton Hotel
#43 of 63 in Hamilton
358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#46 of 63 in Hamilton
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#31 of 63 in Hamilton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton

Address: 290 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ai piedi del Monte Bonifato, immersi nella natura a 3km dalla città, unico B&B con possibilità di pagare le ore effettive di pernottamento, servizi disponibili come il trasfert aeroportuale da e per PA/TP, escursioni Isole Egadi, Terme Segestane e tanto altro, possibilità di pensione completa. Tutte le camere con bagno interno, parcheggio custodito privato. Area meeting e conferenze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcamo Hotel Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing