We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, good location”
Review of VR Hamilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VR Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    67
    88
    56
    84
See reviews for
50
149
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I booked this on the internet, and had great trouble finding it, even with a GPS (without which I would have been sunk). Even arriving after business hours, all the on-street parking was occupied, and the street level signage is very obscure. I eventually found a place to leave the car and explore the area on foot, to locate the hotel. Once you have found it, all is well - there is free off-street parking, and the city location makes all the restaurants easy to access. There was a warning about city noise, and the ear-plugs in the cabinet, but it was the hotel's own noisy ventialtion system in the inner courtyard the disturbed my sleep - I couldn't hear street noise at all. This is an older hotel, well refurbished and my room was huge, and a very reasonable price. Now I know how to find it I might stay here again, especially if they dampen the noise on the ventilator fan.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonCityOaks, General Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property.

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback, please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Steve Penrose Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Firstly, let me just advise anyone interested in staying in downtown Hamilton remember you will be in the heart of a city and therefore there will be outside noise. Having said that, there are earplugs in the side table by your bed that should solve that problem. The rooms are huge, very clean and the bed is extrememly comnfortable. All the staff, include the receptionists and the cleaning staff are exceptionately helpful and friendly. Free Wi-fi and secure parking is provided. The best rooms to stay in, to minimise the noise further, are on the second floor and I would recommend room 211 highly. You're close to the many lovely restaurants Hamilton has to offer and only a very short walk away from the river. Highly recommended; just be aware of the noise factor.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are the best for noise minimisation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonCityOaks, General Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,

Steve Penrose Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab
Level Contributor
206 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I was there last december (2011) and made the reservation in the internet. The hotel looked very plushy in the internet, more then I can stand.
But surprise, surprise, it was plushy, but on a low level. After all it was a good vacation, and the atmosphere was authentic.
I had a room to the main street, but htere was no noise in the night. WIFI was free and reliable.
The parking lot is in the backyard with entrance to the hotel. A bit of a disadvantage was the tricky parking area, I need a second guy to come out without colision.
Breakfast was not included, but just the next door is a cafe with breaky service and that was really tremendous !
Next tme I will be there again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the backside should be quiet, but second floor to the main street seems no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonCityOaks, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hamilton City Oaks. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hamilton City Oaks on your next visit to Hamilton. Kind Regards, Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Fabulous stay, loved our huge warm room with a European feel. Very central, secure parking. If I had one criticism it would be the shower, the pressure was low and the nozzle was a fixture which was too low on the wall, we had to crouch to stand under it. Outstanding value and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeGrandHotel, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at Le Grand Hotel. I was very pleased to hear that your stay met with your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#44 of 62 in Hamilton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Hamilton Hotel

Property: VR Hamilton Hotel
Address: 237 Victoria Street | Corner Victoria & Collingwood Sts, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand (Formerly Hamilton City Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Hamilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VR Hamilton Hotel is located within a stunning heritage listed building in the heart of the Hamilton city. With its beautiful surroundings, VR Hamilton Hotel continues to impress and satisfy its guests through providing the warmth and genuine hospitality that has become the hallmark of the Hotel. A versatile set of function rooms, comfortable and high quality accommodation, combined with our attentive and friendly team makes VR Hamilton Hotel a great venue for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing