We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VR Hamilton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$117
US$90
ibis
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$181
US$144
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$136
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest on Ward(Hamilton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (411)
    Filter reviews
    411 results
    Traveller rating
    60
    85
    103
    65
    98
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    60
    85
    103
    65
    98
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsformer gloryrooms are hugevictoria streetbit datedwould stay again
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    384 - 389 of 411 reviews
    Reviewed 21 January 2013

    Very friendly staff, super easy check-in, free parking, and nice room. I was very pleased. Have lived in NZ for over a year now and never heard anything good about Hamilton. I thought it was a beautiful town. And the Hamilton City Oaks is very nice and in a great downtown location.

    • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Ryan F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HamiltonCityOaks, General Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

    Dear Valued Guest,

    It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us and Hamilton exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

    Warm regards,

    Steve Penrose Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

    The aircon in our room wasnt working was very very hot on th 2nd floor. Couldnt sleep called reception asked if we could be moved said allthe rooms were like that atm. Said theylk bring a fan. The fan was one of those little heaters that have a fan function useless things! False advertising when booking clearley said aircondioning!! Then the breakfast id hardly call a breakfast. Worst accomodation ive stayed in!

    • Stayed: December 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jazzyrox
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HamiltonCityOaks, General Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at steve@vrgroup.co.nz if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

    Warm Regards,

    Steve Penrose Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

    Good clean hotel, great city location, parking tricky around the back but it's manageable. Friendly staff who are happy to help. It's got character if you seek a less generic hotel!! Great for couples and families alike.

    • Stayed: January 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RieBob
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HamiltonCityOaks, General Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Thank you for your review. Our property is certainly unique, that is what we are most proud of.

    We take immense pleasure in being able to serve our guests every day and enjoy what we do.

    We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

    Warm Regards,

    Steve Penrose Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 January 2013

    WE had a very large room what was fairly ordinary inasmuch as it all looks a it tired. One of the chairs in the room had a broken back on it and hadn't been put back together too well. All firniture obviously period knock-offs from the east but a bit heavy on the French polish for my taste.

    Bed overly soft and pillows overly hard, even the spare ones in the cupboard.

    That being said it was very clean and the bathroom was fine.

    The breakfast was continental which is a bit of a let down. Corn flakes, Meusli or Weetbix and canned fruit etc. Uninspired.

    Staff very pleasant though.

    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank KeithAuckland
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HamiltonCityOaks, General Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

    Dear Valued Guest

    Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations throughout your stay. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your comments to the relevant department heads to address.

    Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in Hamilton.

    Warm Regards,

    Steve Penrose Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 January 2013

    We stayed one night here when it was known as Le Grand. We booked on an off-peak rate and scored one of the huge corner rooms, which had acres of space, a comfortable bed and a big bath. The room was beautifully appointed; some may find the parking slightly awkward but it was easy enough with a small hire car. This hotel is perfectly located next to award winning restaurants and cafes. At the time we stayed, breakfast was provided at one of the cafes next door and was included in the rate and was well worth it! We would stay here again if we visit Hamilton in the future.

    Room Tip: Corner room is huge.
    • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Matthew M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HamiltonCityOaks, General Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

    Dear Valued Guest,

    It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

    Warm regards,

    Steve Penrose Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews