We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but oh so noisy”
Review of VR Hamilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VR Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Karikari Peninsula
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice but oh so noisy”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely situation with a host of great restaurants right there Refurbishes and spacious rooms but noise from street below meant not much sleep. Drunken revellers and loud cars mean the rooms need sound proofing. They do provide ear plugs however Staff friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minstrel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonCityOaks, Guest Relations Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Minstrel2013,

I thank you for taking your valuable time out and providing such a constructive feedback.

There is so much learning from your review and I will be sharing this with each member of our team, including the issue with the noise. We are finding a way to reduce the noise within the hotel including looking at double glazing on the windows. I do sincerely apologize that this hindered your experienced at our hotel.

We would love to have you staying with us on your next visit to Hamilton to see what difference your feedback has made to the quality of our guest's experience.

Many thanks for being our mentor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    69
    89
    56
    85
See reviews for
52
151
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spacious rooms, old fashioned, with big high ceilings and a lovely sense of faded glory. Our room was quite grand, but the view was only of other (very close) buildings. The service was great - very friendly and helpful - and the location is perfect if you want to be in the eating/drinking part of Hamilton. Only (slight) complaint was that all around the back entrance of the hotel (where you park) is pretty disgusting, although most of the mess is not actually on the hotel property, and the second shower was cold.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mignonandchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonCityOaks, Guest Relations Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

I thank you for taking your valuable time out and providing such a constructive feedback.

There is so much learning from your review and I will be sharing this with each member of our team, both for the areas where we were commended for and the occasions where we had scope of improvement, such as the condition of our car park.

We would love to have you staying with us on your next visit to Hamilton to see what difference your feedback has made to the quality of our guest's experience.

Please accept my sincere gratitude for sharing this with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hamilton City Oaks had excellent accommodation, very well maintained and very comfortable.
We just had one night here this weekend for a birthday celebration. We had a great experience.Our room was a 2 bed room, nicely appointed, lovely bathroom with inbuilt Spa and comfy bed with all we needed. Great that there was no noise from any direction and hence a good night sleep was appreciated.
I would certainly recommend the City Oaks in the Hamilton to anyone looking for a hotel stay where all the staff make you feel welcome. Great value for money and good location in the heart of the city. Especially in the staff that night Manager was really friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vyom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonCityOaks, Guest Relations Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking your valuable time out and providing such a constructive feedback.

We really appreciate the positive feedback in your review and we are glad that you had a great Birthday here at this hotel!

We would love to have you staying with us on your next visit to Hamilton to see what difference your feedback has made to the quality of our guest's experience.

Many thanks for being our mentor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights Great location. Staff was friendly, room was neat and tidy. The check in was pretty swift done by one of the receptionist name Gagan. He is a fabulous person helped me in couple of things. Would like to stay there in future if I get a chance to visit Hamilton again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrysar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonCityOaks, Guest Relations Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mr. Harrison,

I thank you for taking your valuable time out and providing such a constructive feedback.

There is so much learning from your review and I will be sharing this with each member of our team. I am certain that Gagan will really appreciate your positive feedback about him also, and I will pass this onto him.

We would love to have you staying with us on your next visit to Hamilton to see what difference your feedback has made to the quality of our guest's experience.

Many thanks for being our mentor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend, located in the heart of Hamilton! Walking distance to everything. Rooms were spacious and good value for money! Wonderful reception girl her name was Danielle I think, always happy to help with any request! We will be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aimee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonCityOaks, Guest Relations Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Aimee,

I thank you for taking your valuable time out and providing such positive feedback.

There is so much learning from your review and I will be sharing this with each member of our team including Danielle.

We would love to have you staying with us on your next visit to Hamilton to see what difference your feedback has made to the quality of our guest's experience.

Many thanks for being our mentor! I could not have found a better member in our consultants team to add to our learning curve. It feels like you did this hard task for us as a senior member of our management team. Please accept my sincere gratitude for sharing this with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great location, excellent helpful staff, great parking as we have a large truck and we are always accommodated for parking without a fuss, rooms are great, great price, will continue to stay whenever we are in Hamilton.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonCityOaks, Guest Relations Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Lindsay,

I thank you for taking your valuable time out and providing such a constructive feedback, its great to hear that you have such positive experiences at our hotel!

We would love to have you staying with us again on your next visit to Hamilton.

Please accept my sincere gratitude for sharing this with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 63 in Hamilton
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#48 of 63 in Hamilton
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Hamilton Hotel

Property: VR Hamilton Hotel
Address: 237 Victoria Street | Corner Victoria & Collingwood Sts, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand (Formerly Hamilton City Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Hamilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VR Hamilton Hotel is located within a stunning heritage listed building in the heart of the Hamilton city. With its beautiful surroundings, VR Hamilton Hotel continues to impress and satisfy its guests through providing the warmth and genuine hospitality that has become the hallmark of the Hotel. A versatile set of function rooms, comfortable and high quality accommodation, combined with our attentive and friendly team makes VR Hamilton Hotel a great venue for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your VR Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing