We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always value for money”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel has become a regular for our annual stop over in Hamilton, one big family room (2 kings and a single) is tremendous value. The children love the in door swimming and spa pools and the travel budget can be spent elsewhere. Whilst the price is good the decor is a little dated and tired but rooms and common areas are always clean and tidy, and the staff friendly. There is a golf driving range down the road, a New World up the road and a Water World swim complex behind, so nicely located, the drive into CBD 5 minutes. No doubt we will be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    79
    71
    40
    21
See reviews for
70
65
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and would not recommend it to anybody. The bed had 6 broken springs sticking out which caused injury to the lower leg. When informing staff about this they showed absolutely no interest and offered no adequate solution at all. I have searched for someone to contact in regards to this but find that this hotel makes it impossible for customers to give feedback. At the very least I feel that the hotel should refund the price of our stay here as they fail at the very basic level on which a hotel should function - providing a bed that won't injure you!

Room Tip: stay away from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianmariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for making us aware of the problem with the bed and it has been replaced. Staff check for these things but run a hand across the mattress seams rather than put weight on the bed which forces any springs that may have come loose to protrude through the mattress.

It is disappointing that you have felt staff were unsympathetic because they took it very seriously and ensured the bed was changed as soon as they were made aware.

I apologise for our shortcomings and again thank you for making us aware of the situation so it could be remedied.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Have stayed here a few times in the past, but this time it surpassed my expectations and my experience has ensured we will be returning. The reception staff were excellent, welcoming and polite - certainly much more welcoming than I have struck in the past. Even the housekeeping staff member who cleaned our room was lovely and friendly.
Could not have found better value for money for our 3 day stay and the room was very spacious, 2 queen beds, had good air conditioning and good sized flat screen tv.
We used the pool and spa - both of which were clean and pleasant to use.
I am not sure if the staff are new or they have provided new training for them but I was very impressed and shall be recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: There are no lifts (elevators) to the rooms, so if you have mobility issues with the stairs I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xpressoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect stopover! Especially for the price!! (Some hostels charge more than we paid for a double room!!) Although like all the other reviews say, the decor is slightly dated but everything is maintained well. It was spotlessly clean! The room was huge, with a flat screen tv; we were expecting an older one from the photos. The grounds around have been kept nicely. Although we didn't use it, the pools looked clean and well maintained. The staff were extremely polite. Comfortable bed! Would strongly recommend!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlenLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiddletown, California
Level 6 Contributor
720 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very 70s hotel. The place needs updating. Rooms were large, but not well maintained. The bed was not good, needs to be repalced. The breakfast is always the same. We stayed three nights here. Not a lot of places nearby to walk to save for a small market and bakery. Also large tour groups use this hotel. Not sure I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you found breakfast the same on the 3 days you stayed, we do put out a full buffet breakfast everyday with a large number of choices available but understand that you may have required something else. We are currently going through the rooms re-varnishing, coating and changing the woodwork in the rooms. Over the last 18 months, carpet, curtains, bedspreads, bed heads and flat screen TV's have been put into the rooms. It is disappointing that these were not to your taste. Hamilton is not a large tourist town and the group you encountered when you stayed in October were a one off group visiting the famed Hamilton Gardens and rose gardens around the Waikato.

Thank you again for making comment and hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand.

Kind Regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Personal very friendly, willing to help. The spa is old but very comfortable and quiet. Unfortunately the hotel and especially the rooms are very old and never modernized since the construction. He could be vintage and cosy but in this case it produces a lack of comfort and an impression that the hotel will be destroyed very soon. I recommend it only if you don't have any other choice

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank artgamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make comment. The Hotel was built in 1998 and the 600 wing (with spa, sauna, gym and indoor pool complex) was added in 2001.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taranaki
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a $99 room and buffet breakfast for two, excellent value, highly recommended. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. Excellent selection of good instant coffees, teas and cocoa. Very friendly, helpful staff.
Had a little trouble getting key into outside door lock.
Only real down side was the VERY NOISY bar fridge, which is why I marked sleep quality as only average, after I turned it right down I got to sleep. This did defrost the icebox as I'd imagined it would and I was awoken by a clunk of falling ice, and then I used the towels to clean up all the water leakage. Apart from that it was well above what i expected for that cost.

Room Tip: We were downstairs in the 300's so in this large complex it was relatively close to the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.1 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#29 of 63 in Hamilton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre offers 147 air-conditioned hotel rooms and suites, many of which have been refurbished in 2017. The hotel’s new Superior Rooms & Suites have been designed to feature a modern & contemporary vibe. Guests will be treated to upgraded, luxury beds combined with sumptuous linen ensuring a restful night’s sleep, plush new carpet, increased soundproofing, comfortable armchairs and a work desk, 49” flat screen televisions, free unlimited WiFi and individually controlled heat pumps/air conditioning. Extensive guest services including a gymnasium, three spa pools, an indoor swimming pool and bar. The hotel's popular Garnett's Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Located only minutes from the Hamilton city centre and conveniently located to reach any out-of-town places of interest, this Hamilton hotel is a favourite with business travellers and holiday makers alike. For families, the proximity of Waterworld is a real bonus and for horse racing enthusiasts, Te Rapa Racecourse is just a short walk away. The Base Hamilton - NZ's largest shopping centre is also just a few minutes walk from our Hamilton hotel. Distinction Hamilton also boasts some of the largest conference facilities in the Waikato area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing