We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moderate but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
281 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Moderate but dated”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The decor is old and dated. The amenities are ok. The beds are not plush and the pillows are the $2 shop variety.
The restaurant sold nice food at a good price and overall not bad for the price but I will try somewhere else next time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank crocteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    74
    71
    40
    21
See reviews for
70
63
7
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a great hotel for eating, conferencing, staying over. It's very easy to find, not far from everywhere and comfortable. I used Wotif and the friendly staff accommodated a matching price for me. My room had a large bath in it and two beds. Great size with everything available.
Would use again.....wotif price of $85 makes this room an absolute bargain!

Room Tip: Not sure why this question is on the review as you only see one room which is the one you are put in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. Of the 147 rooms at the hotel the decor is pretty much the same in every room with the differences being rooms with a bath, twin bedded room of triple bedded rooms.

I believe the pictures are pretty indicative of the look of all the rooms. Great that you were able to get a good deal and appreciated the size of the rooms.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for one night because it was cheap and close to an event we were attending. It was relatively close to town and well-priced. We had a spa which was lovely, not private but still nice for a Winter dip. The swimming pool would be good in the Summer. It also had a gym area for those active types. The beds were comfy and facilities while older were clean and tidy. The place needs to be updated as it does look a bit tired and dated. Staff were friendly and because it was cheap accommodation I would return if we had another event to go to nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make comment. From these I believe you had value for money and that is our aim so it appears you were well looked after.

Its great that you were able to use and enjoy the facilities at the Hotel and hopefully we will see you back again. (the pools heated to 25 degrees so can be used year round)

Ongoing maintenance and upgrade work has been continuing for an extended period now and will continue when possible.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We would come back to this establishment for the future. Handicap room in the 100 section. A suggestion is to either sand down the wood on the handicap stool so mold does not show. Or put a coat of waterproof paint on the wood.

Room Tip: Handicap unit good in the 100 section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanRainaW30yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the comment. An excellent idea and one that will be given to maintenance immediately. All the wooden fixtures and furniture in the rooms has been re-varnished in the last 6 months and this obviously missed.

Thank you again for bringing it to our attention.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for business attending a conference and everything was exceptionally adequate.

For a start, the Hotel is away from the City Centre, so if you're there for any sort of tourism or experience, I'd suggest looking somewhere substantially closer to the city, especially as, if you're fond of using public transport, the buses don't run much later than 8pm. It's quite a taxi fare to and from the property, and on the other side of the town from the airport. I tried to find something close by to try for dinner to no avail - it's either eat at the Hotel or catch an expensive fare in and out of the city,

The rooms themselves were actually decorated with beige and floral prints (who knew such things still existed in Hotels in the 21st century?). Apart from being dated, the minifridge was also exceptionally loud (I ended up unplugging it), the bed was poorly made and the sheets all untucked by the time I got into them, and the shower head sat annoyingly low on the wall. I've never understood why hotels insist on installing shower heads either at face or chest height, I'm not that tall, it would be so much nicer for it to be another 10cm higher on the wall.

On the plus side, the rooms were spacious and kept clean, and the service was efficient and friendly.

More like a motel really than a hotel, unless you're on a budget, just travelling through or on business at the conference facilities there, I'd suggest spending a little more finding something nicer closer to town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndustryBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make comments regarding your stay with us at the Hotel. We are located 4 kms from the city centre, however there is a shuttle that runs to the Casino and this should have been pointed out if you booked a taxi through reception.

From your description of the bathroom you would have been in our 600 wing. These were built with a shower over a bath and I agree for taller people the shower head is very low. All other accommodation wings have walk in showers and this would have been a better option for you.

Thank you again for a balanced evaluation of the Hotel.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is an older hotel but room was large and the bathroom spotless. Bed big and reasonably comfortable. The outside could do with a bit of a face lift as the air cons are all looking rusty. Needed a power plug by the bed but all the points were hard wired so had to run an extension cord across the room. Staff very friendly and capable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guntha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make comment. The staff appreciate it when people take the time to make positive comments regarding their service, such as you have.

Your comments regarding the individual air conditioning units is a good one and will be addressed by maintenance.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Booked this hotel based on price and location - stopover en route to South.
Location was good - easy to find coming off SH1.
Room - very dated and basic. Beds - very uncomfortable and hard. Was large with Double and Single bed.
Rooms are in different blocks - after check in (very unfriendly staff) there was nowhere to park near the block so had to unload outside front door and park elsewhere. (limited spaces). No lift to upper floors so carrying lots of luggage and a child while propping doors open was interesting!
Couldn't wait to leave and wouldn't stay here again. Ibis is better!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceaniaTravelService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. As we have over 300 free car parks I find it surprising that you have stated limited car parking. We are more than happy to help with luggage if requested and if possible we will move rooms to satisfy a guests needs.

Your comments regarding the check in staff are disappointing and the matter will be taken up with the Front Office Manager. Thank you for bringing the issue up.

I apologise for our shortcomings and regret the stay was not one we would have hoped for.

Kind regards

Murray Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.2 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.1 mi away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#29 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing